Home > Uncategorized > Herald in Heaven

Herald in Heaven

seven-o-heavenHumboldt County’s print media market seems to be suffering from swine flu these days.  Especially when compared to the spirited “Newspaper War” of yesteryear.

But don’t let it get you down.  Check out the cartoons in this week’s North Coast Journal which borrow some inspiration from the real media powerhouses — the blogs.

First up, ten points to the first reader who can identify the finger-wagging freedom fighter in this week’s strip by Joel Mielke.

After that, flip to page 49 for a slice of seven-o-heaven, the cartoon strip made of photos and dialog bubbles.  Or just fix your eye on the reproduction at right.

Clearly, these guys have their fingers on the pulse.

As sorry as the media situation may be, readers would be hard pressed to find another publication that carries two local cartoons focusing on local stuff.

  1. August 27, 2009 at 6:04 am

    …and a Star is born!

  2. August 27, 2009 at 6:14 am

    And as per usual, of course, the “real media powerhouse” cut-’n’-pastes wholesale from the paper.

  3. anonymous
    August 27, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Its our very own Fred!

  4. anonymous
    August 27, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Why is Hank Sims perusing the Humboldt Herald at 6:14 am? Looking for leads?

  5. August 27, 2009 at 6:51 am

    OK, I deserved that.

  6. August 27, 2009 at 6:55 am

    IMO Hank Sims should be teaching journalism. The comment about the Herald is spot on. It is a better commuity because of the both of them.

  7. anonymous
    August 27, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Absolutely!

  8. Anonymous
    August 27, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I wonder why the NCJ’s “Blogthing” wasn’t mentioned at the end of the cartoon?
    The cartoonist must be freelance. He sure is good though. It should be fun following this strip…

  9. derchoadus
    August 27, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Geez, Hank. Quit kissin’ Heraldo ass. I’m tryin’ to eat breakfast.

    ;-)

  10. Anonymous
    August 27, 2009 at 8:47 am

    That’s no cartoon. It’s a photo narrative!

  11. August 27, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Seven-o-heaven is in the fumetti-style. Fumetti are puffs of smoke (word balloons) and all comics are fumetti in Italy, but in America it refers to the photo-comic style that was pioneered in the early sixties by Harvey Kurtzman, who had left MAD (the publisher wanted something more like the crappy, puerile product it is today) and founded Help! magazine, which first published Robert Crumb and other great cartoonists.

  12. anon
    August 27, 2009 at 9:11 am

    As usual, Heraldo makes himself look like a total ass. You are a joke, don’t you see? “Powerhouse”?? Are you on crack dude?? PLEASE JUST STOP.

  13. August 27, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I rock.

  14. Anonymous
    August 27, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I ran.

  15. August 27, 2009 at 9:25 am

    I didn’t know I was fumetti, but I’ll humbly take your word for it.

    I rule.

  16. Anonymous
    August 27, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Such a suck up Joel. Bleh

  17. August 27, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Yeah, Joel. Don’t force Anonymous to learn any facts about this style of cartoon. How dare you!

  18. Mr. Nice
    August 27, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Andrew Goff is moving up in the world now that his work is featured in a widely read publication.

  19. August 27, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I ran.

    Well, if you insist on bringing Flock of Seagulls into this.

  20. Ekovox
    August 27, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Yeah Joel…..everyone knows Cracked was the only magazine for real cartoon connisuers.

  21. longwind
    August 27, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Though political comment makes me feel as cheap and tawdry as the subject, I cannot forbear response to our scholarly cartoonist’s rag on Mad Magazine.

    Kids of today, know this well: Mad used to be what The Simpsons became, a precious reliable place where reality denied everywhere else is recognized as common property, with the big yocks to prove it. Mad was all-important. Otherwise people like George Bush would have equal stature with kids making excellent fart sounds, or anyone else–you know, like it is now? Mad confirmed the underlayment of truth and values beneath the professional wrestlers circus where so-called adults spend their lives.

    Without Mad Magazine I wouldn’t know that the world, which seems to get crueler and dumber every day, probably always sucked this bad. Now I know that at least we’ll always have Rod Blagojevic, and our locals pols struggling to meet his mark.

    What, me worry?

  22. August 27, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Mad Magazine deteriorated so much after Harvey Kurtzman left that it became the subject of parody itself in a wickedly funny 1970 National Lampoon piece.

  23. David Couch
    August 27, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    I still vote Pogo for president!!

  24. longwind
    August 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Oh well, was it that late? I was too mature by then to enjoy that battle of titans, by then I was embroiled in Mad Magazine-style politics, and never looked back until now . . . thanks for the very relevant history lesson!

  25. humboldturtle
    August 27, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Heraldo, I can’t smile without you
    I can’t smile without you
    I can’t laugh and I can’t sing
    I’m finding it hard to do anything
    you see I feel glad when you’re glad
    I feel sad when you’re sad
    if you only knew what I’m going through
    I just can’t smile without you

    Oh, Heraldo. You are SO…I dunno, so oh, darnit

    I can’t laugh and I can’t sing
    I’m finding it hard to do anything
    you see I feel glad when you’re glad
    I feel sad when you’re sad
    if you only knew what I’m going through
    I just can’t smile without you

  26. humboldturtle
    August 27, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Heraldo, I can’t smile without you
    I can’t smile without you
    I can’t laugh and I can’t sing
    I’m finding it hard to do anything
    you see I feel glad when you’re glad
    I feel sad when you’re sad
    if you only knew what I’m going through
    I just can’t smile without you

    Oh, Heraldo. You are SO…I dunno, so oh, darnit

    I can’t laugh and I can’t sing
    I’m finding it hard to do anything
    you see I feel glad when you’re glad
    I feel sad when you’re sad
    if you only knew what I’m going through
    I just can’t smile without youuuu…

  27. August 27, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    It was worth repeating.

  28. humboldturtle
    August 27, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    That was the encore. Never too soon (notice, three extra ‘u’s)…hey, I want to be a cartoon, too!

  29. August 27, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    I always wanted to be the voice of a cartoon.
    Could live forever.

  30. gabby haze
    August 28, 2009 at 8:17 am

    wouldn’t ya love to see a heraldo cartoon in the style of the modern world cartoon?

  31. anon
    August 28, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I’d love to see more Heraldo cartoons… smashed under the jackboot of my oppression!

  32. anonymous
    August 29, 2009 at 9:29 am

    what does seven-o-heaven mean?

  33. August 29, 2009 at 9:40 am

    I believe it’s a reference to our area code.

  34. anon
    August 30, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Heraldo, you make me wanna puke my pants.

  35. Heraldo
    August 30, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    That must mean you fart with your face.

  36. Big Al
    August 30, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    I think anon meant to vomit deeply

  37. anonymous
    August 30, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Depends.

  38. Ed
    August 30, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    People, people please, it’s the sabbath. Is nothing sacred?

  39. anonymous
    August 30, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    My people were Seventh Day Adventists. They claimed God created the earth in six days and rested on the seventh. They were simple country folk. Very quaint. And, by God, they rested from sunset on Friday until sunset on Saturday! All things being equal, it seemed like a good plan to me.

  40. anon
    August 31, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    This is a rather self-gloryfying piece.
    Isn’t it obvious.
    Heraldo is the man behind Seven-O-Heaven!
    Think about it.
    Mystery solved.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,162 other followers