Home > Alex Stillman, Arcata, Fundraiser > $17,500 for Arcata Ridge Trail Project

$17,500 for Arcata Ridge Trail Project

Mark Andre, Director Environmental Services for the City of Arcata; Todd Larsen, Queer Humboldt; Alex Stillman, Mayor for the City of Arcata; Michael Weiss, Eureka Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence.

The Bat-n-Rouge event that saw Humboldt County officials and other high profile community dudes don dresses and wigs for a game of baseball was a huge success judging by the check.

“We raised a huge, $17,500 for the Arcata Ridge Trail Project and had an over-capacity crowd of 1,000+ attendees,” said Todd Larson of Queer Humboldt in an email to the Humboldt Herald.

Way to go, players.

Big thanks to the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence for sponsoring the event.

  1. Anonymous
    October 7, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Great event! Good work everyone!

  2. Eric Kirk
    October 7, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Cool!

  3. October 7, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    According to the Eye, about $20,000 was raised!

  4. October 7, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Happy Trails!

  5. Pete Nichols
    October 7, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    What a GREAT event! Thanks to all the organizers…and next year I promise I will be be way hotter than Gallegos!! Good work all!!!

  6. October 7, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Paul was smoking hot in that naughty cop outfit. The mini handcuffs dangling from his garters were a perfect touch.

  7. Debi Farber Bush
    October 8, 2010 at 7:33 am

    September 10th was a night to remember……but not pictured (which is fine) is me…Debi Farber Bush who co-chaired the event with Todd and Michael. Anyway,if are a supporter of the Arcata Ridge Trail Project-on October 30-31 the Race for the Ridge Trail Festival is taking place in the Community Forest. Activities for everyone 5K walk/run,kids bike activities, music and food in the park ect. Watch for information and thanks again Heraldo for spreading the word!

  8. no Body
    October 8, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Go Ridge Trail. What a great cause to raise money for. In seeing this picture the only comment no Body would make is about “queer” Humboldt. I find that an odd description with a disparaging defintion. Dictionary.com states strange or odd from a conventional viewpoint; unusually different; singular: a queer notion of justice.
    2. of a questionable nature or character; suspicious; shady: Something queer about the language of the prospectus kept investors away.
    3. not feeling physically right or well; giddy, faint, or qualmish: to feel queer.
    4. mentally unbalanced or deranged.

    “queer” Humnboldt is better than the name implies

  9. Frank Drinkard
    October 8, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Taking a “disparaging” word and embracing it often changes the meaning. Look at the words jazz, rock n roll, punk, or dude. Words are not stagnate.

    The Arcata Ridge Trail Project has raised thousands of dollars through the work of volunteers and City staff. The Arcata Community Forest provides revenue to the city, recreation to its citizens and preserves the environment. To bad other cities in the county dont have the vision to follow its lead. Say what you will about Arcata, but this is something everyone should support!

  10. Ragtime
    October 10, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    I have fought against the use of the word “queer” by younger and more with-it out-of-the-closet LGBTQ folks. Why? Because when I was being beaten in grade school, my tormenters called me “queer.”

    Hey! In those days, you couldn’t Google the word to find out what it meant. I didn’t find out until later.

    I had other problems that came to light much later, that made me a target of bullies for being “different.”

    And it turns out that while I was isolated, lonely and in despair, my parents eventually found out about the torment in school and with the help of some teachers helped me survive and thrive.

    One teacher in particular when I was 12 came into the classroom to find that I was being bullied, called “queer” and nearly reduced to tears for the umpteenth time in my life. He raised his voice in what seemed a shout and told the class that if they ever treated me that way again, they would regret it. His tone of voice told everyone he meant it. None of them ever tormented me again. And for the first time, I was able to fully concentrate on my studies, raising my grades from barely passing to top of the class.

    If I could raise my grades from rock-bottom to top-of-the-class, I eventually realized, other people could do it, too. So I went into careers where I could help other people who had been taught to believe they were powerless, or – worse – worthless. This was my reward for the pain and suffering I endured as a little boy.

    Plus the fact that I came out in the early 1970’s and put my face right out there in the media a few years later in a bid to make life easier for young gays, lesbians, bi’s, and transgender people in the years to come.

    So back to the word “queer.” A few years ago, when first heard it being used by Queer Humboldt, all I could think of was that this was just wrong.

    I even engaged in a protracted dispute about the use of the word “queer.”

    Then, after I visited the Humboldt Pride event at Halvorsen Park on September 11, I had a change of heart.

    Why should I fixate on A WORD, a single word, and let my old fears keep me from being part of a new, vibrant, life-affirming movement? Why should I isolate myself from other people whose strength could strengthen me and whose spirituality could open my heart in ways it needs?

    Why, in short, should I permit the bullies of long-ago torment me today by carrying the old fears with me today?

    Remember when you quote the dictionary definition to refute the right of any people to define themselves, the dictionary is written by the establishment to uphold traditions in language and in culture.

    The most fertile, growing, evolving time for the English language was the time of Shakespeare, over a hundred years before the first dictionary was written. Shakespeare’s inventive, deeply humanistic plays were primarily spoken and learned from notes. They almost didn’t make it into print, and if not for the efforts of a band of his friends after his death, we would never have heard of Romeo and Juliet or MacBeth. His plays were never written down until after Shakespeare had died. The Master of English literature respected the fluidity of the then-rapidly-evolving English language. Dictionary-writers not so much.

    So when we are faced with a new word or an old word used in an unsettling new way, let’s think carefully before we use the dead hand of linguistic orthodoxy to crush the living spirit of the young and the young-at-heart.

    I changed my mind. Call me “queer.” Just don’t call me late for the next rally like the one on Friday at the Humboldt County Courthouse!

  11. October 11, 2010 at 6:34 am

    For those wondering why we use the word queer in today’s environment, you only have to look at how the word has been reclaimed for the LGBTIQQA (yes, the letters keep getting longer) community. Queer is all encompassing, and it no longer translated by today’s youth as the word we once understood a generation ago.

    Read more about it on the Queer Humboldt About Us page:

    http://www.queerhumboldt.org/about/about.htm

    And you can always email me for any further questions at info@queerhumboldt.org

    Thanks for all the amazing support on Bat N’ Rouge!

    Todd Larsen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

