Home > Fort Humboldt, Humboldt County, Native Americans, Wiyot > Humboldt History lesson

Humboldt History lesson

YouTube video by lolol615 looks at the founding of Humboldt County.

  1. December 19, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Great history lesson. Poor voice over though as the volume is so low I couldn’t hear parts of it over the rain on my roof. I’ll dig out the earbuds.

  2. Mitch
    December 19, 2010 at 6:42 am

    So, Tom, I’m hoping that means you’re volunteering your time and equipment resources to help remake the voiceover?

  3. December 19, 2010 at 8:05 am

    They could ask KMUD or KHSU for help. I agree with Tom, the audio quality is pretty bad and it makes it difficult to follow. Sure you can give them a pass, it’s not like it was a commercial undertaking. But, why let it go out like this? It’s not finished yet.

  4. December 19, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I would be willing to recut the audio because that’s what I do. It would have to wait until after the holidays though. If lolo615 can get a script to me, I could cut it on my own time and email the parts back to them. Heraldo knows where to find me.

    This is a good little documentary and I would be willing to help it along.

  5. Carol
    December 19, 2010 at 11:12 am

    It is well done. I just turned up the volume.

  6. December 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    I had my computer turned up as fully as it would go and still had difficulty hearing the commentary. Please adjust it if you can, because this is a worthy story to be told…and heard! LOL

  7. Anonymous
    December 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    It is well done except for the voice quality & it was also very one-sided.

  8. The Monitor
    December 19, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    The history of two peoples living on the same land is an unfair one. Europeans took over and the natives reacted with anger. If this area had been in your family for thousands of years you probably would react to the assault on your way of life too.

  9. December 19, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Monitor…I agree…I am astounded.

  10. Mitch
    December 19, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Thanks, Tom. I hope lolol615 takes you up on your generous offer.

  11. Decline to State
    December 19, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Agreed with all. The sound quality sucks and takes away from this important perspective on Humboldt history. It appears that the producers took the brave step of having a child narrate the piece…sorry to say that was a mistake. It comes off as too much reciting/reading combined with poor sound levels and quality. I’d like them to reconsider the sound.

    I’m happy to say I feel blessed to consider Cheryl Seidner a local treasure and a friend.

  12. Anonymous
    December 19, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Some young person did this for a history project, imagine, and nobody told her to speak slowly, loudly, and clearly. Information is good though!

  13. cheesedick
    December 19, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    go ahead and delete my post h…

  14. December 20, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Those who minimize the genocidal horrors visited upon First Nation peoples; are the same people who justify our: “Resource-Taking-through-Murder” throughout the world.
    Something as simple as the Times-Standard’s photo of the Kayaker running Tish Tang Falls; shows an amazing ignorance of Hoopa/Yurok/Karuk culture.
    The guys responsible for taking the picture will be forgiven for being clueless, most white-men are pretty clueless. But the T-S has run stories in the past about the sacredness of the place. They should have known better.
    One of the guys from the Rez said: “How would they like it if we skateboarded through the Vatican?”
    Yeah, laugh. But unfortunately the white race has shown an incredible disregard for the sacred. Money is the only thing that has any importance to the white-man.

  15. Anonymous
    December 20, 2010 at 11:37 am

    The Vatican is sacred? Sacred to who?

  16. Not A Native
    December 20, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Interesting, I learned some things about Ft. Humboldt. Funny, its one place here I’ve never felt interested to visit.

    In response to the poster who wrote it is ‘one sided’, of course its not a complete history. But having a point of view isn’t the same as being biased. Is the general story, immigrating Europeans displaced natives from the land and in population, incomplete? To me, it was informative and stuck to facts. Can’t ask for much more than that from a short amateur effort. Well done !

  17. skippy
    December 20, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    Nice piece, good refresher, sound quality came through OK for me.

    Cheryl Seidner rocks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

