Home > Eureka California, Uncategorized > Borders bankrupt

Borders bankrupt

Bookstore chain Borders has filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection, but the Eureka store located in the Bayshore Mall will stay open.

About 200 out of 642 Borders stores will close, according to the Chronicle.  Full list of closures here.

  1. AJ
    February 16, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    this list can be sorted alphabetically by city, state, etc.

    I hate to say it, but I was half looking forward to a local closure in order to buy bookshelves on the cheap for our school’s free bookstore.

  2. Anonymous
    February 16, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    It will close soon enough as Amazon slowly takes over the world

  3. Walt
    February 16, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    and the last of us readers tip over and die. Watch for it on Facebook.

  4. Anonymous
    February 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Okay, you guys, let’s have a show of hands. How many of you own a Kindle that you bought from Amazon?

  5. Anonymous
    February 16, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    I bought kindles for my kids and about 10 items thru amazon for XMAS. Bad! ?

  6. anonymous
    February 16, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    We’re on a very small budget so we don’t buy many books anymore. We’ve started using the library a lot more and often request books of interest to us. They often purchase them but then they’re usually books most people would read. We also do a lot of shopping at Booklegger – a fun way to spend a few hours. I’ve seen summer tourists from the bay area walk out of there with a shopping bag full of books. If all else fails we ask Booklegger to order a new book or go to Northtown books. I still like the feel of a book in hand and find reading easier from the written page than from a computer/pad/phone device.

  7. AJ
    February 16, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I won’t buy an ereader that uses DRM that tries to prevent me from using content on a competing device. I won’t buy an ebook that I can’t later sell or give to someone else on a permanent basis. A printed book has a lifespan, a good 50 years or more if moderately cared for. That’s a lot of potential owners over the decades.

    In most cases, people aren’t really buying ebooks. They’re essentially buying usage rights to access content under specific conditions that tries to guarantee that an ebook will have only one owner for the entirety of its lifespan.

    The plan seems to be to convert the bulk of consumers who buy books at retail prices over to ereaders. Ebook prices will normalize (go up) after these consumers are invested in the technology. In some ways, it’s a misguided attempt by publishers to diminish the secondary (used) book market. It’s misguided because many people who buy used books can’t afford or simply wouldn’t buy new books. So, ebooks merely serve to shrink the total number of readers for the sake of convenience for the people who rent ebooks.

    There are also publishers who would like to charge libraries every time an ebook is lent out. You can imagine how that would affect our libraries.

    In conversations with ebook fans, the overwhelming sentiment I hear is one of dismissal because they choose to pirate most of their ebooks and they favor convenience over the downsides to how ereaders are changing the market. The surprising thing is that generations of young people will debate you at length that ebook piracy isn’t theft, launching highly detailed semantic arguments about physical vs. virtual products.

    It will be interesting to see how all of this shakes out.

  8. Mitch
    February 16, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Young people know when they are being ripped off.

    The cost of all forms of data (forgive me, books, records, photos, videos, etc…) are changing as a result of the digital revolution. When publishing a book entailed use of expensive capital equipment, the purchase of expensive paper and ink, the need for relationships with thousands of small distributors, and a serious risk of ending up with thousand upon thousand of unsold printed copies, publishers were entitled to a large share of the purchase price of books.

    Now that those costs have been removed from publishing, the publishers would like to keep making as much money per book as they once did. There’s nothing wrong with their wanting that — I’d like a pony myself. But I can certainly understand why young people would feel that the publishers are ripping them off, and retaliate with piracy.

    Jobs proved that if you ask a fair price for electronic goods, the vast majority of people will pay it. Compare that with what publishers do.

    Then, for a laugh, take a look at what publishers charge for math textbooks. Algebra, calculus, and arithmetic haven’t changed much in the last 100 years, but publishers always see the need for a new edition.

  9. skippy
    February 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    The guy at Borders last week was kindly hawking their ‘preferred rewards’ cards to every customer at checkout. Having been burned by this before from the previously defunct Waldenbooks, I wondered if Borders was going out of business. I passed and the answer is, ‘yes.’

    Eureka’s Borders is fortunately still open. It’s a great place to hang when having to buy new tires at Sears and… waiting. It’s like a fine library to pass time in, having coffee, food, and clean bathrooms to boot. Could be a good place to meet like-minded single people if you hate the bar scene or church.

    We like the other bookstores in town: Eureka Books and Booklegger, both little local gems in their own right each and with their own flavor.

    I’ve wondered that in case of nuclear holocaust and destruction, save your bookstore and its repository of knowledge while also saving your survival supplies and ammo. Then again, books might be the least of your worries.

  10. AJ
    February 16, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    in case of nuclear holocaust and destruction, save your bookstore and its repository of knowledge

    Sounds like Henry Bemis in Time Enough at Last. Finally, all the time in the world to read his books.

  11. Walt
    February 16, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Just don’t break your glasses like Shelly Berman did. By the way, Library Quarterly booksale Friday eve and Saturday. And also, did you know you can feed your ebook readers and ipods for free at the library? Check out their website at humlib.org.

  12. FoxStudio
    February 16, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    AJ @6:10pm- Sing it, baby! I just encountered Adobe Digital Editions for the first time. A friend of mine in Mongolia is doing his thesis and needed a book from eBooks. He doesn’t have a credit card, so asked me to buy the book and email it to him. Three on and off days of frustration later, we finally gave up. “We” being myself and my husband, who has been in IT since 1964.

    I don’t want the book (The India-Pakistan Conflict, if you must know), I simply wanted to send it to him. The eBooks version was $26, which was doable. A “real” book was somewhere between $80 and $100. Not doable, both for price and the fact that he needs it now.

    I have an iPad, which I love, and have downloaded one paid-for book (Asimov’s Memoirs) so far via the Kindle Store, but generally I have a nice fat credit at Booklegger and get my books there or at Tin Can Mailman.

    At this point I absolutely refuse to 1) Use Adobe Digital Editions or eBooks ever again and 2) will not buy anything with DRM. Votin’ with the ole pocketbook.

  13. Walt
    February 16, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Sorry, it WAS Twilight Zone, “Time enough to last”, but it was Burgess Meredith, not Shelly Berman.

  14. skippy
    February 16, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Nice! link AJ, enjoyed that, and good information from Walt and FoxStudio. In fact, I learned a lot from many posters here not knowing much about Ebooks. For example, DRM, meaning Digital Rights Management, or the website here telling how to strip it away from Kindle and others fairly easily. peace…skips

  15. FoxStudio
    February 16, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Oh, Skippy, thank you. We’ll see if it works tomorrow. I’d so love to get that book to my Mongol friend in time for him to use it.

  16. Anonymous
    February 16, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Where’s the hate? Used to be that Borders was the evil box bookstore driving the small local bookstores into the grave. Will we now mourn its passing?

  17. Walt
    February 16, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    I don’t want to talk to you no more, you empty headed animal food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries. No go away before I taunt you a second time. That better?

  18. Anonymous
    February 16, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    That’s better.

    I have been waiting to share that movie with my son. Maybe this weekend I will.

    Thanks

  19. Owltotem
    February 16, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    We can buy nearly everything we need (want)at a locally owned stores. Books, Booklegger or old town books or OMG the library!; music, the works; clothes, bell star, picky picky picky; shoes, north soles ;sneakers, strehls; boots picky; food, co-op, (ENF owner has yet to earn my business back, too bad him, I spend a FORTUNE on organic produce) building supplies Piersons, eat fish, crab, oysters,salmon, join a CSA, grain is kind of a bitch, and I really love bananas. I mitigated purchasing blueberries from chili by buying Tofu from the Arcata tofu shop, that is fair right?. For a book, I suggest the first one you ask OT books to order you (or the library to get) is Small Mart Revolution oh better yet get it from 100fires in manila (paul@100fires.com I think he is having a sale). It has a section on community investment, like a mini community stock exchange, a brilliant idea. I have no love lost from losing Borders or Ken fuckin die shitten. Come on this is our home, these are our neighbors, this is our community, lets keep what little resources we have right here. I’ll just feel terrible when general growth cant rent a single store. And for the Marina Center supporters, how about ordering some 1986 newspapers from the good old TS , a quick history lesson into how they are being duped again.

  20. Alex
    February 16, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    I’ll miss Borders, but the truth is I’ve been using the Nook since I found out I’d be living in a tiny little studio. I just don’t have much room for physical books at the moment. Even when I have room for lots of physical books again, the eReaders are so useful for travel and gym I doubt I’d eliminate having an eReader entirely. Enlarge the text, set it up on the machine, no hassle book-reading even during a decent workout. Or when dealing with eye-strain.

    It says that list of closures isn’t necessarily complete/fully accurate, so I wouldn’t breathe a sigh of relief about Eureka yet, though I’d mostly been browsing Booklegger, anyway, and occasionally getting books that are not currently in print.

  21. Decline to State
    February 17, 2011 at 7:00 am

    I’d believe that the Eureka Borders made the cut because we rate above average in literacy and in our rural, old fashioned sort of ways and continue to support print media.

    I also believe in unicorns.

  22. February 17, 2011 at 8:12 am

    It’s only the beginning. Big stores are going to figure it out eventually that they don’t need the headache of a store. All they need is a warehouse and a website.

  23. Eric Kirk
    February 17, 2011 at 8:24 am

    But I can certainly understand why young people would feel that the publishers are ripping them off, and retaliate with piracy.

    Um. I can’t. Why not retaliate by not buying the product?

  24. "HENCHMAN OF JUSTICE"
    February 17, 2011 at 8:29 am

    “Borders” at that LOCAL BIG BOX STYLE MALL is relying on the R.G. CalTrans project first to lower it’s prices; then, it will go outta business, lola.

    Jeffrey Lytle
    McKinleyville – 5th District

  25. Anonymous
    February 17, 2011 at 8:36 am

    No Jeff, Borders doesn’t need that length of truck to transport books.

    The first rule of humor is for there to be an element of truth to what you’re saying. Try again.

  26. Reality Check
    February 17, 2011 at 9:39 am

    MORE RETAIL! MORE RETAIL! MORE RETAIL! MORE RETAIL!
    EUREKA-FUTURE DETROIT OF CALIFORNIA!

  27. Anonymous
    February 17, 2011 at 10:12 am

    I own way too many books and pass them on to others…am currently trying to sort through them and determine which ones I want to keep. I’ve cut down on buying but patronize the all the local bookstores. Rarely ordered from Amazon UNTIL I bought a Kindle. Have to admit, I enjoy it primarily for the convenience. Also, I can use it to access the Herald. The formatting is a little weird, but the content is there.

  28. Goldie
    February 17, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Support the businesses that make your life richer. Bookstores feed your soul? Support them to the degree that you are able.

  29. "HENCHMAN OF JUSTICE"
    February 17, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Anonymous
    February 17, 2011 at 8:36 am
    No Jeff, Borders doesn’t need that length of truck to transport books.

    The first rule of humor is for there to be an element of truth to what you’re saying. Try again.

    Response: Humor needs no truth, just like profits, high societal costs, mark-ups and mark-downs, bankruptcies, etc…. Yep, truth today is questionable. Anyhow, irrelevant rule you cited imo. We all know consumer/customer traffic is gonna increase and businesses will save money and pass it along to the customer so that even those other businesses that are customers themself save money too (Supplies, maintenances, energy, fuels, etc..)…..your up-to-speed economic reasoning and thought process about humor and truth deserve applause ——->>>>>> clap, clap, clap, clap, clap……… O.K., lunch-time humor is over, back into the wet, cold weather where there are jobs.

    JL

  30. High Finance
    February 17, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    I love Borders and buy about 10 books a year there.

    Forget e-books, they are only rented books. Besides, there is nothing like turning the pages of a good book. Then when it is done it goes in the bookshelf and you can remember how much you liked it.

  31. skippy
    February 17, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Sometimes I hit up Google Books. I can find the author, title, and preview a few pages to see if I enjoy the style or it meets expectations. Doing so, I found the book I’d been looking and called Booklegger. They had it: used, less expensive by half the price, and bought local.

    Occaisionally you can find an older book in its entirety on Google Books — and view it completely, not having to purchase anything. For example, I found and read our fascinating and local accounts of “Indian Wars of the Northwest”, by AJ Bledsoe, 1885. This book is unavailable locally– and expensive as a reprint of around $80; the earlier printings are quite costly. Curious to note, you’ll notice through the book’s link here it was personally inscribed in the cover pages by an “AJ Monroe (?), Eureka, July 7th, 1885.” So I didn’t have to order the book or wait for it to arrive. It was in my office, in seconds online, and for free. I also was able to find and read a very early and rare scientific piece done by Edgar Allan Poe in the early 1840’s this way, too.

    Happy hunting, bibliophiles. Hi-Fi is right that a real book in your hands is much more satisfying. A book always works, doesn’t need batteries or plug-ins or updates, is always there for you when needed, can be lent, and lasts a long time.

  32. February 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    If I’m out of moderation-purgatory….
    Do you find yourself using the internet more and more Hi, or not?

  33. High Finance
    February 17, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Both for work & pleasure, Moviedad, I am on the internet several hours a day.

  34. The Challenger
    February 17, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Out of curiosity, HiFi, is posting on this blog work, or pleasure… :-}

  35. High Finance
    February 17, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Haven’t you heard ? Robin Arkley pays me quite a sum to post here.

    Of course they could be wrong, I could be RA himself !

  36. February 17, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    I’m sorry High, I was thinking about book buying, or DVD’s. I’m just wondering if people in general are shopping more online, or shopping for things they used to buy in a store. Like books, or auto parts. I’m thinking it won’t be long and Sears, Kragen, Home Depot and the like will only be available through the website. I know that Lowes and Home Depot due huge business online.

  37. High Finance
    February 17, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I have bought stuff on-line but rarely. Usually only things I cannot find locally.

    I like to see stuff in person before buying.

  38. A-Nony-Mouse
    February 19, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    OMG!!! I agree with HiFi on this one. A real book that I can put down at will, or leaf through the pages, or skip to the end, for that matter, is far more satisfying. Now don’t worry, HiFi. It had to happen sometime. I’m just glad it’s this one that we agree on.

  39. AJ
    February 19, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I’m thinking it won’t be long and Sears, Kragen, Home Depot and the like will only be available through the website.

    Big boxes just need to adapt to the Internet the way indie stores adapted to big boxes. Find out what people buy online and why they buy it online, and change your merchandise to be competitive (or alternative).

    Here’s an analysis comparing Borders to Barnes & Noble.

    For me, every time I went to Borders looking for a specific title, it wasn’t there. Used bookstores always had it. Once, I needed a fairy book for a child’s birthday — Borders only had Disney-style (Tinkerbell, etc.) fairy books. The Toy Box had an actual display of real fairy books. If I needed a new adult book as a gift, I’d probably buy it online because it’s cheaper and faster than hitting every bookstore around the bay, or pestering clerks on the phone.

  40. High Finance
    February 19, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    I may have to rethink my position now Mouse !

  41. AJ
    February 20, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    How Borders lost its soul. Some interesting comments are attached to the article.

  42. Joe
    February 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    I’m an avid book reader who didn’t shop at Borders in Eureka for the first two years I lived up here. I went to all the bookstores in Eureka and Arcata and would do orders through their store and occasionally online.

    I went to Borders for the 1st time about 6 months ago and I have not turned back. When I go to Borders they usually have the book I need (sometimes their new releases become sold-out fast!), more often than the local ones.

    Also their customer care is friendly (although a bit understaffed) and always help me get in and out when I need too.

    I have the Borders Reward free program and use their coupons every time I come in and now you don’t even have to print them out (just let them know what e-mail you received before you come in) and it is always at least 33 percent off an item.

    Border’s seems to be always doing charitable drives (Toys for Tots (Humboldt), Humboldt CASA, Troop drives). Keep in mind also that with an unemployment rate nearing 10%, the last thing Eureka needs is Borders to close.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

