Home > North Coast Journal > New Editor at the North Coast Journal

New Editor at the North Coast Journal

It’s been a rough few months at the offices of the North Coast Journal, but the weekly paper announced today the job opening for a new editor has been filled.

Welcome Carrie Peyton Dahlberg, a veteran writer and editor from the Sacramento Bee.

Announcement.

  1. What Now
    June 8, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Poor woman.
    She has my condolences.

  2. Teacher
    June 8, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Good luck keeping that sinking ship afloat.

  3. June 8, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Let’s give the Lady a chance. The vehicle is sound. It just needs a good driver.
    Good luck, Carrie! We have high hopes.

  4. tra
    June 8, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Welcome and best wishes to Ms. Dahlberg.

    I’d just like to add that I think Ryan Burns did a great job of keeping things going and continuing to produce quality journalism, in the midst of a very challenging and fluid situation. Well done, Ryan.

  5. tra
    June 8, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Just read through Ms. Hodgeson’s announcement, and I’d like to extend my thanks to Heidi Walters in addition to Mr. Burns. Great job by both of you.

  6. Decline To State
    June 8, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Tough job. Good luck. Thanks Ryan.

  7. Mitch
    June 8, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Let me add my welcome to Ms. Dahlberg, and second those who have congratulated Ryan Burns on a great job during the upheaval.

    I was pleased to see the Journal, along with other members of the Alternative Newsweeklies group, run David Cay Johnston’s extremely informative cover story on “Wealth Care” back around April 15th.

    Whoever made the decision to use that piece has my thanks, and I hope the new editor would agree it was an excellent story for the Journal. Humboldt badly needs an alternative news weekly, and I’d love to see the Journal become one.

  8. The Big Picture
    June 8, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Of course the Reich-Baggers hate the NCJ, it publishes an actual investigative story once in awhile.

    Fear and favor in the newsroom is exacerbated in hard times, and is now decayed to become our democracy’s weakest link.

  9. Anonymous
    June 8, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I don’t mean to be a nit-picker, but why do people say things like “quality work” or “quality journalism”? . Don’t they really mean “high quality”? There is either high, mediocre, or low quality, not just quality. Isn’t that right?? Why has this become so popular?

  10. Anonymous
    June 8, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Oh god. Poor woman, sinking ship, just deserves.

  11. Neal Latt
    June 8, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Great job Ryan, Heidi and the rest of the crew. I was kind of hoping Ryan was going to stay on as the Editor but I’m ready to welcome Ms. Dahlberg to the North Coast and wish her well. Nice to have watched the Journal’s work continue on snark-free under Ryan’s able leadership.

  12. June 8, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I also hoped Ryan Burns would stay on as Editor. I just like the idea of: “Give the Kid a chance.”
    I’m sure Ms. Dahlberg will do great.
    The Journal is the best “News” paper around….after The Two-Rivers Tribune of Hoopa Valley, of course.

  13. Despot
    June 8, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    They still publish the journal?

  14. Anonymous
    June 8, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I thought Ryan did an excellent job as well…but it seemed as though finding an “editor” was always in the works, so welcome! I hope Ryan and the crew are appropriately appreciated by management!

    Sorry, Despot, The Journal would be missed many.

  15. Walt
    June 9, 2011 at 5:55 am

    “I don’t mean to be a nit-picker, but why do people say things like “quality work” or “quality journalism”? ” We use “snuck”, “awesome” and “killer”, apostrophe abuse has gone viral and nouns are shamelessly verbated every day, so why not “quality journalism”? Correct English is so yesterday!

  16. Mitch
    June 9, 2011 at 7:10 am

    According to the Journal’s publisher, in her statement in the current issue and at the Journal’s own blog: “(Ryan declined, by the way, to apply for the permanent position of editor, preferring to return to full-time reporting.)”

    Smart man.

  17. Mitch
    June 9, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Walt,

    World class question. If you incentivize me, perhaps I’ll answerize it. But the only answer I can provide for free (* regular shipping and handling costs apply) is (* please provide your credit card information to begin your free trial at QualityAnswerizationByMitch.com).

  18. Joel Mielke
    June 9, 2011 at 7:38 am

    “They still publish the journal?”

    If wit is the only wall between us and the dark, it’s no wonder you haven’t seen the Journal.

  19. June 9, 2011 at 8:45 am

    “verbated”????? Is that a made-up word like “blog”???

  20. Joel Mielke
    June 9, 2011 at 9:03 am

    And what’s wrong with turning nouns into verbs? Does Walt have a convenient alternative for “texting”?

  21. What Now
    June 9, 2011 at 9:48 am

    “Joel Mielke says:
    June 9, 2011 at 9:03 am
    And what’s wrong with turning nouns into verbs? Does Walt have a convenient alternative for “texting”?”

    Great!
    Now I better understand why the NCJ is so f*cked-up.
    Appears to be the Al Haig approach to sommunication.

  22. Joel Mielke
    June 9, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Oh, please elaborate.

  23. Mitch
    June 9, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Anyone else have as bad a procrastination problem as I do? Joel? Walt?

    http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-verbification.aspx

  24. Mitch
    June 9, 2011 at 10:18 am

    “as I’ve got.” I forgot about the grammar nazi patrol, and in a discussion of grammar nazism.

  25. Plain Jane
    June 9, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Verbate is a word but it doesn’t mean turning nouns into verbs.

    Verbate To reproduce word for word.

  26. Teacher
    June 9, 2011 at 10:37 am

    I think wikipedia may have failed you this time PJ. I have never heard of “verbate.” Are you sure you are not thinking of “verbatim” which means to reproduce word for word. Show some dignitude and admit, for the first time ever on the Herald, that you PJ, are 100% wrong. I anxiously await your explanation on how you are not really wrong about this one.

  27. Plain Jane
    June 9, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Verbate: To reproduce word for word.

    http://www.encyclo.co.uk/define/verbate

    Verb: word in Latin.

    http://wordinfo.info/unit/2809

  28. Mitch
    June 9, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Doctor English is smarter than you. Doctor English has a master’s degree…. in English!

  29. Teacher
    June 9, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Damn, this hurts PJ. I was 100% wrong.

  30. Mitch
    June 9, 2011 at 10:56 am

    In case my previous comment was confusing, I apologize.

    I was assuming familiarity with the following: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ask_Dr._Science

  31. Joel Mielke
    June 9, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Regardless of whether one accepts verbs formed from nouns (though, I promise, you will not get though a day without using a verb that derives from a noun), or uses the correct verb to describe the process, I’m still waiting to hear from What-Now why, he “better understands why the NCJ is so fucked-up.”

  32. Not A Native
    June 9, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    What did the HWMA decide yesterday about the recycling contract?

    I hate the ugly gravator of me. No way is my tail green or my arms thin. And hey, what’s that sticking out in front? I’m no Weiner.

  33. Walt
    June 9, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    “Anyone else have as bad a procrastination problem as I do? Joel? Walt?”
    I meant to get back to you earlier, Mitch, but I got tased by Thomas A. Swift. God I love etymology, Tom said formatively.

  34. Joel Mielke
    June 9, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    And I was busy blogging — oh sorry; I should say participating in online discussions, or contributing to threads on blogs?

  35. Anonymous
    June 9, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Well, yes, “blogging” as a verb typically means you are a blogger and are publishing content on your blog. Otherwise, you’re merely participating on blogs, commenting on blogs, etc.

  36. Joel Mielke
    June 10, 2011 at 9:38 am

    That’s how “blogging” was used in the past, but increasingly it means spending time on blogs and commenting on blogs.

  37. Anonymous
    June 10, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    There’s far too much Mass Vebating going on here lately.

  38. June 13, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Hopefully,

    she has a set of “high-water proof” boots ready to go, as the last fiasco’s participants apparantly needed.

    Jeffrey Lytle
    McKinleyville – 5th District

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

