Home > Uncategorized > Speakers to talk about “coming out” as LGBT, 9/4 6:30 pm

Speakers to talk about “coming out” as LGBT, 9/4 6:30 pm

Coming out successes and challenges: a speakers panel followed by small group discussions

Tuesday September 4, 6:30 PM
Universalist Congregational Church
Hodgson and J Street
Cosponsored by: PFLAG (Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays), Humboldt Faith Equality, Where’s QueerBill

A diverse group of speakers will share their  personal stories including:  coming out from 20 years ago to present in school work home family and congregations;  family acceptances and rejections;  role of religion in coming out;  impact of legal same sex marriage on couples.

Speakers on the panel will include a gay man excluded by his religious family from attending a family member’s funeral;  a lesbian who was once a fundamentalist bible student;  a husband who left his marriage many years ago to come out;  a local couple who got legally married in California during the six month “window” after decades of living together and raising family together, and a woman who came out at Arcata High about having lesbian parents about l5 years ago.

The panel will be followed by small group discussion led by the presenters.For further information, contact:

Jerryl Lynn Rubin, M.D.
Humboldt Bay Wellness Institute
455 I St,Suite B
Arcata CA 95521
(707)825-8495
Fax (707)822-4529
  1. Eric Kirk
    August 17, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Coming out is always brave, but I really hope it works out for these brave souls.

    http://instinctmagazine.com/blogs/blog/uganda-s-lgbt-community-celebrates-first-gay-pridee?directory=100011

  2. Mitch
    August 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    I’m amazed at the speed of the social transformation that has taken place around gay rights in the western world — I would not have believed it possible that in less than fifty years we could move from routine police harassment of gay bars being considered reasonable to a recognition by most decent people that gay relationships are every bit as valuable as heterosexual relationships. The speed of this transformation gives me a bit of hope that other, even more necessary, even more challenging transformations are at least conceivable.

    I hope and expect that the coming out panel will be interesting.

    I remember dragging a female college friend down to the basement of our dormitory to spread the dread news in privacy. Such drama. That was 1974. In retrospect, it’s kind of tragicomic, as my seventeen-year-older sister has told me that she’d had her suspicions since, when I was between one and two years old, I’d been horrified when she got dirt on my shiny white outfit.

    Go figure.

  3. Ponder z
    August 17, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    this is on the verge of being in MY face.
    While I am totally neutral on LGBT, I do not tolerated in my face activism. Dont insult me, my family, my religion, my livelihood. Dont ask for me to fund your gay lifestyle. We will get along just fine then.

  4. tra
    August 17, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Ponder Z,

    I fail to see how this event would be an example of people asking you to fund their “gay lifestyle.” Nor do I see how it’s “in your face” — if you aren’t interested, don’t go to the event. It’s that simple.

    But if you find the mere existence of unashamed, uncloseted gays, lesbians, bisexuals and transgendered individuals in the community — and the public acknowledgement that such people exist and have equal rights (including an equal right to free speech) — to be “insulting,” then, no, you are not “totally neutral” on LGBT issues.

  5. What Now
    August 17, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Ponder Z. just wear one of your wives’ Burkas and attend your own damned church.

  6. Mitch
    August 17, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Ponder z,

    Seriously, I’d like to understand what about this strikes you as verging on “in your face.”

  7. 69er
    August 18, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Sodom and Gomorrah……

  8. SNaFU
    August 18, 2012 at 6:41 am

    There’s a new anti-depressant drug for lesbians on the market: Tricoxagain

  9. Mitch
    August 18, 2012 at 7:00 am

    We watched an amazing documentary on Netflix last night, “Brother Outsider,” about Bayard Rustin. He was the director of the 1963 March on Washington — the “I have a dream” march — but was largely kept in the shadows of the movement because he was a “sexual pervert,” not to mention a former “young communist.” He was also very “in your face” about his sexuality, at a time when that was just-plain-unworkable. Amazing man, remarkable documentary.

  10. Plain Jane
    August 18, 2012 at 8:09 am

    69er loves sodomy.

  11. Anonymous
    August 18, 2012 at 8:14 am

    “…this is on the verge of being in MY face…I do not tolerated in my face activism. ”

    Gotta laugh at people who go around sticking their noses in other peoples’ business, and then complaining that those other people are guilty of engaging in “in your face activism.”

  12. Ponder This
    August 18, 2012 at 8:53 am

    St. Joseph’s of Orange should refuse government funding if they cannot follow the law. And tax breaks for religious cults (e.g. Roman Catholic church, Moonies, etc) should be disallowed. Why should the rest of us subsidize your fearful politics?

  13. 69er
    August 18, 2012 at 10:43 am

    And PJ is really a BITCH, I think what she needs is a good roust in the hay.

  14. Plain Jane
    August 18, 2012 at 11:02 am

    You may be right 69er, but unlike you my big brain does my thinking so good sex doesn’t change my opinions. Coming from a sexist, hypocritical bigot like you, bitch is a compliment.

  15. Anonymous
    August 18, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Can you feel the love?

  16. Anonymous
    August 18, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    P J, I bet’cha if you and I were to ever meet up in person we would have more in common than either of us realize. We need to be more civil to one another, I declare a truce.

  17. Nadia
    August 19, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    SNaFU :There’s a new anti-depressant drug for lesbians on the market: Tricoxagain

    I hadn’t heard this one before. Hilarious!

  18. Felix
    August 19, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    There’s a new country for misogynists too! Castratistan.
    Hilarious!

  19. anonymous
    August 19, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    Felix: Is that next to Afbrokistan, the new name for the U.S?

  20. 69er
    August 20, 2012 at 12:12 am

    This is a repost of my comment that appears under “Anonymous” above, was made by me “69er”

    “P J, I bet’cha if you and I were to ever meet up in person we would have more in common than either of us realize. We need to be more civil to one another, I declare a truce.”

  21. Plain Jane
    August 20, 2012 at 7:28 am

    Truce but not a free pass, 69er.

  22. 69er
    August 21, 2012 at 12:13 am

    I am honored Jane, I woul agee to disagree and keep with civility.

  23. 69er
    August 21, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Would

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

