Home > Uncategorized > Murder Music. Humboldt. STILL.

Murder Music. Humboldt. STILL.

Promoter Beau deVito (pictured) of Bonus Entertainment has not cancelled the Capleton show, despite what you may have heard.  The show is to take place at a club to be announced on show day, “to support uncensored reggae.

Uncensored reggae? Here are the complete lyrics to Capleton’s classic Hang Dem Up, from the web site www.allreggaelyrics.com

[Chorus]
Yow….String dem up and hang dem up alive
Bare batty man come round yah a brive….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Couldn’t mamma earth dema try fi deprive ….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Full time now yu burn out di dutty vibe….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Dis mamma earth sey none cyann survive

[Verse 1]
Last week mi hear say dat di boy go tek a dive
Which part im dive inna di one Rocky Price
Im see di two half an nyam it from both side
Big thunder ball and him head jus collide
Dis mamma earrth and you know u head goin divide
Mi sey early inna de morning all a next man a rise
Rub nose to nose and all a lash eye to eye
Stiff necked fool a full time dem got wise

[Chorus]
Yow….String dem up and hang dem up alive
Bare batty man come round yah a brive….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Couldn’t mamma earth dema try fi deprive ….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Full time now yu burn out di dutty vibe….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Dis mamma earth sey none cyann survive

[Verse 2]
True mi sey it obvious and if dem neva sadamite dem
wouldn’t pick it up …oonu check it out
So mi sey it obvious and if dem neva b—y man dem
woulnd’t pick it up….onnu check it out
So mi sey it obvious and if dem neva corrupt dem wouldn’t write it off
Bun b—y man only b—y man vex
Bun sadamite only sadamite vex
Bun obeah man only obeah man vex
Bun informer a only informer vex
Bun backbiter a only backbiter vex
But if im bun Rex mi cyaan sey a who vex
Mi cyann cal nuh name cause it wi mash up di press
What next?

[Chorus]
Yow….String dem up and hang dem up alive
Bare batty man come round yah a brive….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Couldn’t mamma earth dema try fi deprive ….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Full time now yu burn out di dutty vibe….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Dis mamma earth sey none cyann survive

[Verse 3]
Den a mek yuh tan so and a mek yu gwaan so
An rastafari neva teach you fi live so
Den a mek yuh tan so and a mek you gwaan so
an di Bobo youth dem neva teach you fi stay so
Disillusion, confusion, temptation, corruption
A deh so dem deh, a deh so dem de
We nuh eat whe dem a eat, we nuh sleep whe dem a sleep
Cause a deh so dem deh, a deh so dem deh
We nuh tink how dem a tink
An wi nuh link how dem a link
Cause a deh so dem deh, a deh so dem deh
We nah go dung deh
A bare ba–y man mi hear sey come from dung deh
Bare sadamite mi hear sey vilate dung deh
Bare obeah man mi hear sey heng out dung deh
Bare informer buy out dung deh
Han mi di fire mek mi bun out dung deh

[Chorus]
Yow….String dem up and hang dem up alive
Bare batty man come round yah a brive….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Couldn’t mamma earth dema try fi deprive ….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Full time now yu burn out di dutty vibe….yow
String dem up and hang dem up alive
Dis mamma earth sey none cyann survive

  1. Outside, it's America
    September 27, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    I understand Freedom of Speech and the need to not have government censorship, but what does this say about us when a local business owner apparently thinks this is okay, that the customers are, or will be cool, with hate (music)? Swastikas carved in the ceiling of the Benbow Inn? Triple K Road in Fortuna?

  2. alley
    September 27, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    Your freedom of speech ends when you yell “Fire” in a crowded theater.

  3. Anonymous
    September 27, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Would someone please translate this into English? I have no idea what this means.

  4. silver lining
    September 27, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    Please translate to English. Otherwise I don”t know what to think about it.

  5. Mitch
    September 27, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Here’s the translation of the chorus in Dancehall Dossier — http://www.soulrebels.org/dancehall/y_dancehall_dossier.pdf.

    Yow, string them up and hang them up alive.
    All queers who come around here
    This mama earth says none can survive.

    For the rest, why not ask Mr. deVito? Capleton’s agent will gladly explain that the song is a metaphor for purification, and the symbol of the noose, like the reference to machine guns in Buju Banton’s “Boom Bye Bye” is an artistic device for conveying a deep sense of one love.

  6. September 27, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Thats a good point. If its hard to understand when its spelled out to you, try absorbing the ‘message’ at a show! While I can see how this incites hate in ghetto Jamaica… I bet 99% or more of the people (especially in the US) who go to reggae shows have no clue what these guys are singing about.

  7. Mitch
    September 27, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    bolithio,

    It’s also probably true that they don’t sing these vile lyrics in America or Europe, at least not since the spotlight has been turned on. They are only too happy to self-censor their message as needed to maximize profitability.

    The message that a Humboldt audience can send is that, no matter how well violent hatred against gay people plays in the streets of Kingston, it will be guaranteed poison to your international career. The message would be stronger coming from Humboldt County than almost anywhere else in the world.

  8. September 27, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Time to go out and shut this down by overwhelming numbers.

  9. September 28, 2012 at 6:16 am

    alley :
    Your freedom of speech ends when you yell “Fire” in a crowded theater.

    Here’s the full quote, which is rarely ever given: “The most stringent protection of free speech would not protect a man falsely shouting fire in a theater and causing a panic. […] The question in every case is whether the words used are used in such circumstances and are of such a nature as to create a clear and present danger that they will bring about the substantive evils that Congress has a right to prevent.” Far different from just yelling “fire” in a crowded theatre.

    I support free speech … no matter how vile it is. I don’t like reggae, but I do like the First Amendment. That said, people should protest that which they find offensive or do not agree with. (Personally, I think a person’s “offense threshold” is directly linked to their intelligence. I don’t find barely comprehensible lyrics by some nutter to anything more than rantings of a moron, and therefore not offensive. Just stupid.) Ironically, I don’t think people protested when MDC played here, and that band’s name has stood for Millions of Dead Cops. We pick our battles.

    I’m sure the show will go on, and I’m sure it will be protested. I am also sure it gave this artist far more publicity than he is worth.

  10. Mitch
    September 28, 2012 at 7:19 am

    Doug Brunell,

    Before yammering sheer stupidity about offense thresholds, please devote five minutes to learning about what happens to gay people in Jamaica, and how dancehall has contributed to the human rights disaster there. Here is a starting point: http://www.guernicamag.com/features/greenberg_12_1_10/

  11. September 28, 2012 at 7:49 am

    I can tell you that I will be outside the show, taking pictures of everyone that goes into the show, and posting them online so everyone in our community can identify them as homophobes…I mean assholes.

  12. Mitch
    September 28, 2012 at 7:56 am

    Mark,

    It’s simply not true that everyone who goes to the show is a homophobe or an asshole.

    There are lots of people who just don’t care, and they blend in with people who, for various reasons, simply refuse to believe in what the murder music movement has been trying for several years to expose. I’ve seen myself that the artist’s agents are seriously excellent liars, and it’s very hard to convince people of a truth when it would interfere with their fun. Just look at Republicans.

    What I’d suggest is going to the show with flyers, not cameras. Think about whether you’d feel threatened if you went to a show being given by someone you felt was being persecuted, and someone was outside taking pictures.

    Your argument is with Mr. deVito and with the various promoters who DO know the truth but put their profits first. And with those dumbass members of the local press corpse who think this is an issue to be reported on with a he-said-she-said style, rather than with the proper outrage and disgust.

  13. September 28, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Mitch,
    I couldn’t care less if this guy or his team of cronies feels threatened, I have LGTB friends that have been gaybashed and left for dead. In the USA.
    Show up for the show if you want to, but know that you will forever be know as a homophobes, there images will live on forever on the internet next to the other mindless racists and extremists.

    Any LGTB or allied folks that want to make a stand against this type of blatant bigotry feel free to come out , bring cameras and make sure asshats NEVER EVER come back here.

  14. September 28, 2012 at 9:17 am

    There images=their images…first cup of java

  15. Mitch
    September 28, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Mark,

    If I thought threatening people coming to a dancehall show would end gaybashing, I’d understand your approach. But perhaps you’re just seeking to vent some very understandable and appropriate anger?

    If that’s the case, please consider whether it wouldn’t be worthwhile to focus your anger on the actual problem, rather than a bunch of music fans. For example, instead of threatening music fans, spread the truth about murder music, so that music fans eventually figure out on their own that Capleton, deVito and crowd are vile and disgusting. I think a flyer with deVito’s beautiful face and the translated lyrics to Hang Dem High, pointing out that deVito is defending those lyrics, would be about right.

  16. September 28, 2012 at 10:05 am

    It is not a threat to show everyone who is a homophobe around here.
    If you would like to print up some of those flyers I will be glad to hand them out when I am taking pictures and making sure no gay people get beaten up by thugs, since I am sure that EPD, or HCSO will not be there in force to protect anyone from these folks and their gay bashing ways.
    If a Nazi skinhead band came to town…I would do the very same thing.

  17. Mitch
    September 28, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Thanks, Mark. I wouldn’t want to assist you in your approach.

  18. Eric Kirk
    September 28, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Everyone see Joel’s comic on topic? Hey, it’s all about free speech, right? No whining!

    http://www.northcoastjournal.com/news/2012/09/27/westboro-goes-irie/

  19. Eric Kirk
    September 28, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Yow….String dem up and hang dem up alive

    Does that really need translating?

  20. September 28, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    Damn, no ones up for trying to put ‘It’s Raining Men’ to a reggae beat and flash mob’em? OK – Mark should not be left on his own to do whatever. At least Eric and I were close to home (and knew lots of the indifferent, uneducated or homophobic crowd) protesting Buju.
    I don’t think taking pics is a bad idea – but flyers with is a must or probably he’ll just get his ass kicked and turn this all into a self-fullfilling prophecy.
    Mitch or Eric could you forward my e mail to Mark, please?

  21. September 28, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Oh – did anyone catch the irony? Capelton’s group page on Facebook is called the ‘Capelton Klan!’

  22. Mitch
    September 28, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    Felix,

    I have no idea what Mark’s email address is. People don’t generally fill in the email field with their email, you know.

  23. What Now
    September 28, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Gee, Mark.Just what we need-vigilantee justice.

  24. September 28, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    You could just facebook me…

  25. September 29, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Mitch :
    Doug Brunell,
    Before yammering sheer stupidity about offense thresholds, please devote five minutes to learning about what happens to gay people in Jamaica, and how dancehall has contributed to the human rights disaster there. Here is a starting point: http://www.guernicamag.com/features/greenberg_12_1_10/

    Actually, I’ve been following the homophobia that comes out of reggae (and reggae hardcore) music scene since the ’80s. It isn’t limited to dancehall. So, yes, I do know a bit about it. It’s tied to the culture and the religion, and comes out in the music.

    I think, as I stated before, people SHOULD protest that which they don’t agree with. I also stated I believe in free speech, and that goes for speech I don’t agree with. I don’t like songs that promote homophobia, I don’t like reggae and its many offshoots, and I’m not going to see some simpleton mumble about stringing up homosexuals. I’m protesting by withholding money.

    Your mild insult about “yammering sheer stupidity about offense thresholds” was based on the assumption that I knew nothing about this issue. That’s fine. You don’t know me, and I think that’s an assumption that is easy to make since I don’t think a lot of people have paid too much attention to issue. (I first learned of it when I discovered Bad Brains many decades ago and saw the homophobia there and wondered why reggae, which was supposed to be a peaceful and loving music that attracts trust fund hippies around the world, would embrace such a backwards notion like homosexuals being inferior. But, again, you don’t know my history, so it is safe to assume I would know little about the issue.) I don’t think, however, that my ideas on what people find to be offensive being linked to intelligence is “sheer stupidity.” Are you offended by this music or outraged by it? There is a difference, and I tend to think more people are outraged then offended. Outrage causes protest. Offense causes calls for censorship. It is a subtle difference, but it is important.

    Humboldt is a far more tolerant place than where I spent my teen years. Where I lived, gay bashings were a regular event. Homosexuals and lesbians remained closeted out of fear of what would happen if someone found out. “Fag” was a slur used against anyone who was different. I know that exists in Humboldt, but it isn’t nearly as prevalent as it was back where I lived, and I’m more than happy to see that. I’ve talked to may heterosexual people who are outraged (not offended) at this performer and who plan on protesting one way or another. I support that. I haven’t heard a single one of my friends say, however, that he shouldn’t be allowed to sing those things. They’d like if he wouldn’t, but they don’t want him to be forced to stop. (Honestly, one of my more conservative friends is on the fence about the whole thing as he is a die-hard capitalist and homosexual and thinks that protesting may impact the club’s ability to make money off a product some people want to see. He won’t pay to be insulted, but he believes the club has the right to make money off this. Ironically, he was a big fan of homosexual Johnny Noxzema, who promoted queer bashing in his publications back in the day.)

    Here’s the question I have: Is the club promoting this show because the club owner is homophobic and wants to create an atmosphere of hate, or is the club promoting this because it thinks it can make money and doesn’t really care what the message is? My experience has been that it is usually the latter (and all this talk of “offense” over the performer leads to a lot of free advertising). The venue, which I won’t name because I’m not interested in giving it any more free ad space, is not exactly known for class acts. (Midget wrestling? What next? A Tijuana-style donkey show? If only it were legal, I guess.) It has promoted some base entertainment, sometimes under the guise of frat boy transgression. This performer in question doesn’t change that at all. It is still base.

    Mitch, I’ve liked your comments, and I like your passion. I’m not insulted. I think you thought I made some off-the-cuff remarks and that is fine. (I get that a lot.) I assure you, though, this is a topic I’ve known about for decades. The hate found in parts of reggae won’t go away until the religion disappears. No matter what the true message is, people will distort, and they will sign about it because radical messages get attention. It’s not offensive. It’s pathetic and weak. Don’t be offended that a club would want to make money off this. Be outraged by it.

  26. Mitch
    September 29, 2012 at 10:13 am

    OK, Doug, you’re not asking for an apology, but I offer one. I apologize. Half the time I insult people, I end up being embarrassed by my own ignorance. The other half the time I’m probably just too dumb or stubborn to realize I’m in the wrong.

    Thanks for the contribution.

    I disagree about the pros and cons of publicity around murder music. I like to think that once these performers views and behavior are more well known in America and Europe, at least, people, with the exception of bigots, will avoid them like the plague. I don’t believe that just “letting people be” works when it comes to people who — whether in front of carefully selected audiences or in front of all audiences — spout bigotry.

    The problem is especially acute when the performers are otherwise singing messages of love and peace — I believe it can lead dumb people to join the performers in their prejudices, since they are otherwise such lovely, peace-loving people.

    People hate when anyone brings Hitler into a discussion of bigotry, but I think about what happened to Germany’s Jews daily, and I am ALWAYS prepared to flee this country, because I think it can happen here. I hate when people play with matches in tinder dry country.

  27. Anonymous
    September 29, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Why not start a Capleton tribute band and replace every gay slur with the word nigger.
    Free speech for everybody, right?

  28. Anonymous
    September 29, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Now the show is going to be an “old school underground party” in Arcata?

  29. September 29, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    I … wondered why reggae, which was supposed to be a peaceful and loving music that attracts trust fund hippies around the world, would embrace such a backwards notion like homosexuals being inferior.

    I’ve wondered about this for decades as well. In addition to homophobia, misogyny in the backward Rastafarian culture is pervasive. Cunilingus is as unthinkable to Rastas as homosexuality. Perhaps “one love” means one acceptable type of love.

  30. September 30, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Mitch :
    OK, Doug, you’re not asking for an apology, but I offer one. I apologize. Half the time I insult people, I end up being embarrassed by my own ignorance. The other half the time I’m probably just too dumb or stubborn to realize I’m in the wrong.
    Thanks for the contribution.
    I disagree about the pros and cons of publicity around murder music. I like to think that once these performers views and behavior are more well known in America and Europe, at least, people, with the exception of bigots, will avoid them like the plague. I don’t believe that just “letting people be” works when it comes to people who — whether in front of carefully selected audiences or in front of all audiences — spout bigotry.
    The problem is especially acute when the performers are otherwise singing messages of love and peace — I believe it can lead dumb people to join the performers in their prejudices, since they are otherwise such lovely, peace-loving people.
    People hate when anyone brings Hitler into a discussion of bigotry, but I think about what happened to Germany’s Jews daily, and I am ALWAYS prepared to flee this country, because I think it can happen here. I hate when people play with matches in tinder dry country.

    Mitch,

    No apology was necessary, but that was incredibly nice. You have some great points, and I also believe that the more that is known will cause people to avoid them. Let’s face it, I can’t see some of the biggest homophobes (who usually also happen to be racist) going to a reggae show, so maybe those people who don’t know what the music is will start to question it.

  31. September 30, 2012 at 7:28 am

    Joel Mielke :

    I … wondered why reggae, which was supposed to be a peaceful and loving music that attracts trust fund hippies around the world, would embrace such a backwards notion like homosexuals being inferior.

    I’ve wondered about this for decades as well. In addition to homophobia, misogyny in the backward Rastafarian culture is pervasive. Cunilingus is as unthinkable to Rastas as homosexuality. Perhaps “one love” means one acceptable type of love.

    I think that is the same with almost any group, religious or otherwise. “We love/like you … as long as you are just like us.”

  32. dancehall turn nice
    September 30, 2012 at 8:11 am

    I will interept your photographing me as an open invitation to open up a can of whup ass on you. I will also have to advise you that it will be extremely difficult it remove that camera lodged where it might not be found.In response to someone saying where is the love in reggae music; this is NOT reggae music. It is music by Jamacians called dancehall.Not the same. Dancehall is more popular now but there is a movement by artists to return to the nations musical roots. By the way, lyrics like this that folks complain about are usually from decade(s) ago.I don’t like the homophobia or homohatred in the music but I’ll be damned if some self righteous person thinks they are going to regulate me with his camera or his threats. Two can play that childish game..

  33. September 30, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Threatening people should burnish your image, Dancehall. Good luck with that.
    And the claim that all of this is in the distant past is demonstrably false.

  34. Mitch
    September 30, 2012 at 10:12 am

    By “me,” “dancehall turn nice,” I’ll assume you mean Mr. Devito, whose Facebook photograph appears at the top of the page. Thank you for making the threat in such a public way, it will make the police report much easier.

    If you don’t want your photograph on the web, you shouldn’t put it at a public place on the web. But, more important, you should take pride in what you do, so you should be proud to have your face associated with your actions.

    [Updated: On further examination, I think I jumped to conclusions. Most likely, the threat is regarding someone being photographed at the event. If I was mistaken in assigning the threat to Mr. Devito, I apologize. There are too many assumptions being made by too many people involved in this hideous issue.]

  35. September 30, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    As someone who has had people try to intimidate him with a camera, I’m in agreement with Dancehall Turn Nice. It is a form of intimidation, and for him to say he won’t tolerate it is not going overboard. I’ve seen what can happen when that is taken too far, and it gets downright scary.

  36. September 30, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Who’s being intimidated with a camera? Beau DeVito’s Facebook page is public. As Mitch said, “you should be proud to have your face associated with your actions.”

  37. October 1, 2012 at 6:21 am

    Joel Mielke :
    Who’s being intimidated with a camera? Beau DeVito’s Facebook page is public. As Mitch said, “you should be proud to have your face associated with your actions.”

    But look at the end of Mitch’s comment. He believes the man is referring to the event, which I believe he is referring to, as well.

  38. October 1, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Joel and Doug,

    I can understand someone being upset at being photographed trying to have a night out and enjoy some music. I don’t think that gives anyone a right to respond violently, as “Dancehall Turns Nice” threatened to do, but I think the idea of photographing people entering is, among other things, dumb. I hope it doesn’t happen.

  39. October 2, 2012 at 5:39 am

    I would hope it doesn’t happen, either. Being the victim of those kinds of actions more than once, I think the threat of an ass whupping is more than justified. I’ve had my face show up on a poster as an “enemy” and it led to some nasty situations. The worst part? It wasn’t even true. I had gone to a protest, but since I was there someone in the crowd equated me with some other stance. Not fun.

  40. October 2, 2012 at 7:20 am

    Doug’s point is all too important. It’s our insistence on jumping to conclusions that leads to too much that’s wrong about this world.

    It’s a mistake to conclude that someone attending a concert is anyone’s “enemy.” It’s a mistake to conclude that anyone opposing “murder music” is against freedom of speech. It’s a mistake to conclude that someone opposing a black artist is opposing them because they are black, or that anyone opposing a gay artist is opposing them because they are gay.

    There are, however, people who are bigots. It’s a mistake to conclude that someone who happens to sing about love is not a bigot.

    And it does seem remarkable how much bigots hide behind religious dogma. That’s because you can find more or less whatever you want to find in religious dogma, and easily project your own beliefs onto God, where they become impervious to challenge. To do that doesn’t even require that God exist.

    For some bigotry, it’s helpful to stick to God’s supposed opinions from 2,000 or 6,000 years ago, as somehow written down by the cultures of those periods. Because, after all, God’s word is eternal, except when it changes over time because some culture has changed. Six thousand years ago, God was a big fan of smiting enemies — if you have an enemy you want to kill, the Old Testament provides great justification for it. You just have to read it through simple-minded and hate-filled eyes.

  41. October 3, 2012 at 6:16 am

    Excellent! And with that, I shall consider this one closed! Until next time …

  42. ahatefilledpastafarian
    October 3, 2012 at 10:47 am

    COMMENT / BY GIVE IT A REST / SEPT. 27, 5:51 P.M.

    I have seen Capleton perform several times and he has never performed any of these controversial songs. He also hasn’t recorded any in a very long time. What I have heard from Capleton has been very positive and peaceful. Does this change the fact that he recorded lyrics in the past which supposedly call for violence against gays…no it doesn’t and I completely understand why someone would choose not to give their money to him. On the other hand I don’t understand why the Humboldt County LGTB community can get so outraged and angry at a few very specific dancehall artists to the point of not allowing them to perform. No one has ever left a concert of one of these artists and then gone out and committed a hate crime. The Bible talks about the “evil” of homosexuality and says that God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah with fire and brimstone because of it. So why single out a few reggae when they express a similar religious belief? Why not protest with such passion every church every Sunday if they are so opposed to these views being expressed in a public forum? Honestly this feels like a much more personal attack on the reggae/rasta community. Reggae fans don’t go out and protest when the LGBT community has events such as Bat N Rouge where men dress up as women and run around on a baseball field acting out homosexual behavior on front of children in the audience. If you don’t like Capleton’s lyrics from the past and you don’t want to support him in the present because of them…then don’t buy his music or attend his shows. But protesting him to the point where he can no longer perform for fans who wan’t to see him is censorship and denies him the opportunity to prove that he has changed. I keep hearing people say we can’t allow this to happen in our community…allow what to happen exactly? Like I said these songs are not performed and nobody who attends these shows is attending because they are hoping to hear these few songs. What happens at these shows is that people of all race, color, sexual orientation, creed, and belief come together and have a peaceful good time. WOW we better make sure that never happens in our community!!!

  43. October 3, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Good questions. As for picketing churches, the churches don’t call for my hanging, they just call me a sinner and an abomination. There’s a difference.

    Capleton, on the other hand, has written and performed this (it’s from allreggaelyrics.com):

    (Note: “battyman” is like “faggot”.)

    [Chorus] Yow….String dem up and hang dem up alive Bare batty man come round yah a brive….yow String dem up and hang dem up alive Couldn’t mamma earth dema try fi deprive ….yow String dem up and hang dem up alive Full time now yu burn out di dutty vibe….yow String dem up and hang dem up alive Dis mamma earth sey none cyann survive

    [Verse 1] Last week mi hear say dat di boy go tek a dive Which part im dive inna di one Rocky Price Im see di two half an nyam it from both side Big thunder ball and him head jus collide Dis mamma earrth and you know u head goin divide Mi sey early inna de morning all a next man a rise Rub nose to nose and all a lash eye to eye Stiff necked fool a full time dem got wise

    [Verse 2] True mi sey it obvious and if dem neva sadamite dem wouldn’t pick it up …oonu check it out So mi sey it obvious and if dem neva b—y man dem woulnd’t pick it up….onnu check it out So mi sey it obvious and if dem neva corrupt dem wouldn’t write it off Bun b—y man only b—y man vex Bun sadamite only sadamite vex Bun obeah man only obeah man vex Bun informer a only informer vex Bun backbiter a only backbiter vex But if im bun Rex mi cyaan sey a who vex Mi cyann cal nuh name cause it wi mash up di press What next?

    [Verse 3] Den a mek yuh tan so and a mek yu gwaan so An rastafari neva teach you fi live so Den a mek yuh tan so and a mek you gwaan so an di Bobo youth dem neva teach you fi stay so Disillusion, confusion, temptation, corruption A deh so dem deh, a deh so dem de We nuh eat whe dem a eat, we nuh sleep whe dem a sleep Cause a deh so dem deh, a deh so dem deh We nuh tink how dem a tink An wi nuh link how dem a link Cause a deh so dem deh, a deh so dem deh We nah go dung deh A bare ba–y man mi hear sey come from dung deh Bare sadamite mi hear sey vilate dung deh Bare obeah man mi hear sey heng out dung deh Bare informer buy out dung deh Han mi di fire mek mi bun out dung deh

    The gay community really tried to come to a reasonable solution, offering the artists the option of signing, back in 2007, a document simply promising not to sing anything urging violence against anyone. Signers who did not break their promise have not been the subject of protest. Capleton signed it, and was then recorded breaking it later in 2007. Another dancehall artist, Beenie Man, called for slitting the throats of all gay men from a stage at a Pepsi-sponsored event in 2009.

    The only American group that I know of that calls itself Christian and would clearly love to see violence against gays is the wacko Westboro Baptist Church, the “god hates fags” people. They are counter-protested with great regularity.

    Oh, by the way, I DO believe Capleton has a right to perform, as long as he doesn’t call for my death from a local stage. But I wouldn’t want to support any promoter who brings him around, or any venue who allows him on their stage. That’s because I feel it’s important to boycott the message that these performers continue to spout from the stage in places like Jamaica and Uganda, where it contributes to a reign of terror against gay people.

    Check out this excellent article if you’d like a good introduction to what’s been happening recently in Jamaica:

    http://www.guernicamag.com/features/greenberg_12_1_10/

    If you’d like to take a positive step after reading that article, you could donate to the very brave people at the Jamaican Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays, J-FLAG:

    http://www.jflag.org/donate/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

