Home > Uncategorized > World Boxing Organization’s #4 ranked featherweight: “I’m gay”

World Boxing Organization’s #4 ranked featherweight: “I’m gay”

http://www.sfgate.com/news/article/Puerto-Rican-boxer-Orlando-Cruz-announces-he-s-gay-3919279.php

“I’ve been fighting for more than 24 years and as I continue my ascendant career, I want to be true to myself,” he said. “I have always been and always will be a proud gay man.”

  1. Ponder z
    October 4, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    he has the look of a gayguy

  2. Reads a Lot
    October 4, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Who cares?

  3. October 4, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Watch out who you are calling a gayboy there ponder z. Former world champ Emile Griffith actually beat a man to death in the ring because dude was giving him homophobic taunts before the match.

  4. Anonymous
    October 4, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Actually, with that picture, he resembles a Puerto Rican version of Arturo Gatti. Good for this guy, he has more courage than most.

  5. Anonymous
    October 4, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    When I was in my late teens, I had a work colleague (who I will call “Mark”) who was gay, though I didn’t know it until our last day of work. Like most of my peers I was pretty ignorant about gay and lesbian folks, and though I didn’t actively dislike them, the truth is that I didn’t have a whole lot of experience with them and I guess had a pretty strong stereotype in my mind that all gay men were effeminate and most were probably physically weak and passive. The few “out” gay guys I did know, well they pretty much fit the stereotype. So I never would have suspected that “Mark” was gay, because he was an athletic, all-American looking guy, muscular and “macho.” Keep in mind, this was decades ago, we had never heard of gays in the military, or that Rock Hudson had been gay, and the only gay athletes we’d ever heard of were women tennis players.

    It was a seasonal job, and at the end of the summer we had a keg party to celebrate the end of the summer. Some skinhead punks — friends of friends of somebody’s friend, as it turned out — showed up, and while they were fairly O.K. for a while, eventually, as they got drunker they got more aggressive and obnoxious. I don’t know what started the argument, but by the time I realized what was going on, several of them had cornered and started taunting and threatening another one of my colleagues, apparently because he was Jewish, and as part of their torrent of verbal abuse they kept calling him a “faggot” (though he wasn’t gay).

    Well despite some efforts at calming the situation down, an actual fight broke out. Actually it would be more accurate to say that they basically attacked this guy because he stood his ground and told them to take a hike, and on top of that he had the gall to not deny being Jewish. Outside of high school, I believe this was the only actual physical fight I’ve ever been involved in, and it certainly wasn’t by choice. It was either watch our friend and colleague get attacked by five or six drunk skinheads, or jump in and help defend him. Yes, the police were called, but past experience indicated they wouldn’t be getting there anytime soon, and in fact they did take more than half an hour to arrive.

    Several of us tried to break up the fight, but just ended up getting attacked as well and drawn into a full-on brawl. Eventually some of us managed to get a hold of several of the attackers and struggled to get them out of there, with the idea of locking them out until the cops could arrive. Now most of these punks weren’t especially large or tough, but they were all plenty drunk and belligerent, and there was quite a melee for a few minutes there. At one point I had finally got one of these jerks in a kind of a half-assed headlock, and was trying to drag him toward the door, when one of his buddies caught up with me in the hallway, isolated from my friends, and started punching and kicking me as I struggled to hold onto the first guy. The second guy got in a few good punches, including one to the side of my head that made my ears ring, I was starting to lose my grip on the first guy, who was struggling like hell, and for a moment I was pretty sure I was about to get my ass kicked by the both of them.

    The next thing I knew, “Mark” had come to my rescue, with three or four rapid-fire punches to my attacker, in the course of what seemed like about two seconds — the last of which was an uppercut to the abdomen that seemed to lift the guy completely off the floor, upon which he then collapsed, gasping for breath, the wind knocked out of him. “Mark” helped me get them both out the door — as we dragged the second guy out we noticed he’d pissed himself — and just before we locked them out, “Mark” leaned out and said “just so you know, you just got your ass kicked by a card-carrying faggot.”

    That was how I learned “Mark” was gay. I also learned just how grossly inaccurate my stereotype of weak, effeminate, passive gay men really was. I’m guessing Mr. Pissypants was learning the same lesson that night…but he learned it the hard way.

  6. Goldie
    October 4, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Thanks. I enjoyed your story and its ending.

  7. October 4, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    I too enjoyed this story and I hope this guy is one HELL of a fighter, cause his opponents will now have even more motivation to win – getting their asses kicked by a “faggot” in the ring is gonna bring it on.
    A very brave man indeed!
    And, I say this, tangentially and not to you in a critical way (anonymi #5) this is the language today everyone feels obligated to use; but it is NOT necessary to say gay and lesbian. There was a time when the word ‘lesbian’ was stigmatized. That time has passed. Now we are using a term much like ‘homosexual’ was used in the past (that is, referred to males, unless otherwise specified).
    We say cats and dogs, right? Cause they’re not the same thing! Please – gay has it covered! Gay men and women…….
    My humble opinion, of course – think about it.
    Thanks.

  8. What Now
    October 5, 2012 at 12:50 am

    Great story, Anon!
    Thanks for sharing.

  9. October 5, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Anon 10:16,

    Thanks for that story. It’s a shame there couldn’t have been a non-violent resolution, but sometimes, unfortunately, there is no way out. Here’s to a day when fighting because you’re a “faggot” or a Jew will seem as odd as fighting because you’re left-handed.

    Felix may be right that his opponents will now have additional motivation to fight him (“don’t let that fag beat you”), but I really doubt that anyone at that level of boxing needs much additional motivation. Also, in my experience, hate generally comes from frightened people, not strong people, so I’d be surprised if he gets hate-hardened punches any more than the next fighter.

    I don’t like or understand boxing, but this news report is another example of how rapidly most of society is changing in its attitudes towards gay people.

  10. Anonymous
    October 5, 2012 at 10:30 am

    Speaking from the perspective of a long time fan of the sport of Boxing ( never knew I’d be commenting on a boxing story in the Humboldt Herald ) I would say that most people in the boxing world are going to judge Cruz based solely on how well he can fight, .

    Emile Griffith is a highly respected former world champion and trainer he was in the closet during his boxing career. However , after he came out however no one disputed that he was a great boxer or that he didn’t deserve to be in the Hall-of Fame.

  11. October 5, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Meanwhile, right here in River City (or is that Northern California?), we have this:

    http://blog.sfgate.com/stew/2012/10/05/gay-moraga-boy-scout-denied-eagle-rank/

  12. October 5, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Maybe he wouldn’t put out for the Scoutmaster…

  13. firesidechet
    October 12, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    I still like sex with girls better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

