Home > Uncategorized > Floyd Squires’ Eureka slumlord trial in progress

Floyd Squires’ Eureka slumlord trial in progress

The T-S has a writeup.  Or check out the 2002 (!) North Coast Journal article by Arno Holschuh, or this one by Ryan Burns from 2010.

From the 2002 article, which focused on Squires’ eviction of a tenant who attempted to organize tenants living in Squires-owned housing:

Others in the Eureka city government were more critical than Knight. Attorney Brad Fuller said that in the four years he has had his job, he has seen “a hugely disproportionate amount of time spent on Floyd Squires and his properties.”

“He wouldn’t keep coming to the top of my pile with requests for last-chance notices and possible filings of complaints in court for being a public nuisance if he wasn’t doing something wrong. It happens way too much.”

From the 2010 article:

Leonard said the gathering felt a bit like déjà vu. “It’s the same exact meeting that we had in 2004,” he said, “same building, same problems, same neighbors, same complaints.”

  1. Plain Jane
    November 10, 2012 at 7:43 am

    Justice would be Squires being sentenced to house arrest for a few years in his vilest hovel prohibited from owning rental properties. He’s a menace to the most vulnerable.

  2. trisha
    November 10, 2012 at 7:59 am

    Squires seriously needs to loose all of his places i am so tired of hearing about that idiot. We have never rented frim him but thats cuz we knew about him. But we have lots of friends that have rented from him and had alot of problems…. i think he needs to be made to live in his places and see how his renters feel.

  3. November 10, 2012 at 8:34 am

    trisha :
    But we have lots of friends that have rented from him and had alot of problems….

    I was speaking to a guy the other day. A real left winger type who is actually a home health care type worker. I mentioned Squires in the course of our conversation and was surprised to hear him, without any prompting, say he thought the Squires were ok by him. If nothing else, he said, they rent to people that nobody else in their right mind would rent to.

    I’ve written before that the Squires were always ok by me, too. The first place I rented when I moved to Eureka was from Floyd (Sr.) and Ruth Squires. They always treated us well. They used to pay a lot of us young tenants to paint their rentals- work and money very much appreciated by us starving students.

    Worked for Floyd Jr. at least once. The one time I recall was painting the house at the corner of California and Harris. That place, I’ll admit, seems to have fallen into a state of disrepair since then. Him and his wife always treated me well.

  4. Plain Jane
    November 10, 2012 at 8:43 am

    They rent to people who have no choice but to live in insect infested death traps. That’s doesn’t make them “okay” by any definition. Inability to maintain rentals to even basic safety standards should be a dis-qualifier for owning rentals, especially rentals that are subsidized with taxpayer monies. Even poor people deserve safe rentals.

  5. Political Watcher
    November 10, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Yes, there are abundant State laws and municipal ordinances to get at Floyd Squires. The problem has been that Brad Floyd, Floyd Squires’s lawyer, has been successfully using delaying tactics to forestall the penalties the court has already imposed. The wheels of justice turn slowly.

  6. Reads a Lot
    November 10, 2012 at 11:17 am

    There is always more to the story. If I recall correctly, the City of Eureka counted
    Squires property as low cost housing. I do believe Squires received grant money from
    the city and/or redevelopment funds. The City of Eureka could have long ago enforced the landlord laws. This was not forced until Larry Glass took office. If you want to blame
    someone for the conditions of Squires property blame the city.

  7. November 10, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    Sounds to me like the Squires’ got crosswise with the local gangsters and now they’re trying to get away with his property – all legally, of course.

  8. humbilly
    November 10, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Squires is a hard boiled predator on the poor and ignorant. Yes he will take you without a credit check or any background information (hence a whole lot of Megan’s Law folks in his many buildings) but he degrades neighborhoods with his slum mentality. I am delighted he is being sued in a court of law. Mr Floyd has been successful up to now. This time is different and Squires will have to upgrade almost all his buildings and keep them up per court order. Betty and Floyd are finally facing up to the community standards we all uphold, not perfect but decent, clean and safe rentals.

  9. eye for an eye
    November 10, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    The perfect punishment for them if found guilty would be… To have Squire’s reside in the worst unit they own for 1 year with no repairs allowed, and the rest of the properties to go into court jurisdiction with a timeline for repairs or be sold.

  10. Plain Jane
    November 10, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    Sounds to me like you’re letting your personal biases distort your understanding of this issue, Joe. His tenants have been complaining and evicted for complaining for years and still it continues. He is receiving taxpayer money to provide safe housing and he is delivering dangerous hovels. That this has continued unabated for so many years is fairly indicative that the “local gangsters” have been trying halfheartedly to get him to clean up his act, but he is defiant. You wouldn’t be weeping for him if you had seen the conditions he charges people to live in.

  11. November 10, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    No doubt your right, Plain Jane, but that doesn’t change the facts. A police state is what it is. You can’t have it both ways. The history of Eureka politicians speaks for what it is, just take a good look at how the Eureka Police Department operates, not to mention the District Attorneys Office.

  12. November 10, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    By the way, I don’t have personal biases unlike most. I have experiences, translated – I know what I’m talking about. By the way, the “people don’t have to live there or pay whatever – that’s their choice. If nobody paid their price they’d be gone.

  13. Plain Jane
    November 10, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    If we have a police state to regulate safe housing, what is giving tax money to slumlords who cheat and abuse their tenants called, Joe?

  14. Plain Jane
    November 10, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    Because there are so many section 8 rentals sitting vacant waiting for tenants and moving from a shithole is so easy for the poor? Your experience is obviously limited if you can’t understand how people are forced to live in substandard and unsafe housing when their other choice is under a bridge.

  15. Anonymous
    November 10, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    “I don’t have personal biases unlike most.”

    The thing about personal biases, is that to the person who has them, they are often invisible.

  16. November 10, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    I am very curious to see how this all turns out. I have a feeling it won’t be what anyone expects.

  17. anonymous
    November 10, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    I have a house on the same block as a Squires house. His tenants were the worst of humanity. I know some of the tenants are good people but for the most part he rents to those that are criminals and trash, they ruin the neighborhoods.

  18. anonymous
    November 10, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    Talking of slum lords that have dozens of property’s? Landlords that ruin neighborhoods and quality of life for the surrounding neighbors because of lousy druggie trash tenants? What about Jim Paye? Why isn’t anyone going after him?

  19. juan
    November 11, 2012 at 7:53 am

    For $1000 we can have him killed. Think about it……

  20. Part Timer
    November 11, 2012 at 8:08 am

    somehow a wormhole opened up in Topix and deposited the troll here! please investigate!

  21. November 11, 2012 at 9:01 am

    The wait list for “Section 8” housing is about 1.5 years. in Humboldt County. And you dare not be there to answer the phone when they call. They only call once, and if you don’t answer the phone, they go to the next name. When you do contact them, you find yourself back on the end of the list. This was the experience of my disabled cousin, and also of my elderly friend, who was lucky enough to get into the old “Salvation Army” apartments. I forget the name..but he’d already waited over a year.

  22. Plain Jane
    November 11, 2012 at 9:09 am

    And Squires wasn’t happy just to evict his complaining tenant, he wrote a letter to the housing authority smearing her which got her kicked off the list of qualified renters. Vindictive slumlords are the worst.

  23. November 11, 2012 at 11:14 am

    Is that what is happening to the Squires? The City is trying to steal their property so they can get “tax money” then “cheat and abuse their tenants”? This threads a good example of mob mentality – off with their heads!

    By the way, read what I said before you start condemning me. Nobody here “is weeping” for anyone. The Squires are classic elitist and when you subject yourselves to slaves wage you get “hovels” to sleep in. Welcome to the new America.

    Plain Jane :
    If we have a police state to regulate safe housing, what is giving tax money to slumlords who cheat and abuse their tenants called, Joe?

  24. November 11, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Regardless, they still have a choice. When they put their money down, they committed to that choice.

    Anonymous :
    “I don’t have personal biases unlike most.”
    The thing about personal biases, is that to the person who has them, they are often invisible.

  25. November 11, 2012 at 11:19 am

    So?

    Anonymous :
    “I don’t have personal biases unlike most.”
    The thing about personal biases, is that to the person who has them, they are often invisible.

  26. November 11, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    I sued the creepy guy named, Squires for public nuisance after his drug dealer tenants became a problem to me and the community . He told the Judge it ” was extortion ” & i lost the case . I never sued because of the money . I just wanted my neighborhood back .

  27. anonymous
    November 11, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    GOOD IDEA # 19

  28. Anonymous
    November 11, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    We are all in this community together. As a landlord, I have no patience for those who chose to be in this field of work and one of their goals isn’t to make their neighborhood better. I am sure I will never make as much money as this sort of person, but I have received accolades in the form of thank-yous from neighbors and actual awards from the City for fixing up a bad place and making it something that contributes to a nice neighborhood. Keeping your place up ensures a safer environment, and keeps the property values on level with the other homes or apts in the area. In my experience, letting a place get run down just brings in bad renters, druggies, drug dealers, and criminal types. Also, it costs more to fix a place that has been left to rot and fall apart than it costs to repair things as they break or become shabby.
    I want the court to throw the book at this type of landlord. He is not providing a service to the poor by keeping the rents cheap. He is given us all a slum to have to deal with. I also am completely annoyed with people who use their own home or others to grow pot, and those who destroy their home when the bank takes it over. This sort of person will probably never be right.

  29. Plain Jane
    November 11, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    Thank you for caring about your community as well as your bank account, #28. I agree.

  30. Plain Jane
    November 11, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Do you think Squires has gotten away with this for so long because of the deference given to wealthy property owners over poor renters by the authorities?

  31. anonymous
    November 11, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    No it is the city trying to meet its mandate for affordable housing to obtain government funding. GRANT WHORES. Also there are many here that went to school with the local good ole boyz running things in city hall. They are buddies with many of the landlords-slumlords.

  32. Anonymous
    November 11, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    If the stupid city and Chamber of Commerce would do there job and let anyone know that we have so many historic homes slumlords wouldn’t be able to afford to buy them all up by the dozen. I blame this on those that run the town not seeing this beautiful architecture as something other than a way to drain every cent out of renters and keep there buddies in the $$$$$.

  33. Anonymous
    November 12, 2012 at 1:56 am

    Meanwhile, those who built this county and its cities into moratoriums with homes most local residents cannot qualify to own, (but pay for anyway with skyrocketing sewer bills, deadly streets, and high rents), are celebrated as “respected civic leaders” above the law and safe from media attention. There will be no reporting on how they dominate local campaign contributions and the windfall they receive for doing so….the continued harvest of the people’s infrastructure for more big homes and big boxes…a personal gold mine on granddaddy’s dime.

  34. November 12, 2012 at 8:23 am

    You can’t lay all the blame on the “Slum-Lords” for the sociological problems associated with unemployment, poverty and a lack of opportunity. There’s a huge population of this country that is trying to live on nothing but what they can hustle on their own. When the household loses their means of support, stress leads to violence, leads to abuse. then the disintegration of the family. Poverty sucks. It is everyone’s problem.
    Out of all the property owners making a killing off the misery and poverty, the Prison-business is the worst. I’m sure many people living in cockroach infested “apartments” would not want to trade it in for a clean, concrete and glass cell in one of our high-tech prisons. But that is exactly where they go when they lose the slum they call home.

  35. Anonymous
    November 12, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Eureka is an extreme example of a City held back and ruined by incompetent leaders.

  36. Anonymous
    November 13, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Guys, you would characterize me as a good old boy most likely. I am #28, and I am a local and a landlord. it’s not as simple as what you say, when you judge the local landlords. We are as diverse as any group . I went to school around here, yes. I lean to the right, yes. I feel like the town is my home, and I want to be proud of my home. I take care of my rentals and I have compassion for those who have trouble paying their bills. I make sure my places are insulated, repaired, and that people can be proud of where they live. I mostly get renters who agree and try to keep their places up. I don’t make a lot of money! Rentals are an income but when you are faced with lots of repairs each year, new roofs, appliances, general wear and tear, you’d be surprised to see how little of the rent goes in my pocket. I don’t try to bend the rules and I am not a grant whore. Please don’t characterize me and many others with your assumption of what landlords are like.

  37. Think twice but think
    November 13, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Like the guy above said Squires rents to people no other landlord would ever rent to. If he doesn’t they would be homeless. Now the city wants to steal his properties. I guess they will spend millions to fix up the properties and rent to better people. Lots of Squires tenants will be out on the streets.

  38. Anonymous
    November 13, 2012 at 10:30 am

    I hate the attitude with some of you. “Landlords making a killing off poverty”. you want to believe that fantasy. You must have had a landlord. Landlords get atttitudes too, mostly from being cheated and having their places damaged.

  39. November 13, 2012 at 11:12 am

    I do not believe there are very many landlords that fit the bill of making a living off of misery. But I reference it in relation to the tone of the post; namely: “Slumlords.”

  40. Mitch
    November 13, 2012 at 11:36 am

    There are excellent and good landlords, there are mediocre and terrible landlords.

    There are excellent and good tenants, there are mediocre and terrible tenants.

    The courts, not the blogs, decide when someone is so terrible that it constitutes illegal behavior, and when the courts find illegal behavior, they can punish or sanction. The post simply points out that the courts are now trying to determine this, and provides links to some newspaper/magazine articles for those who are interested in the history.

  41. November 13, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    NONSENSE!

    Mitch :
    ***
    ***
    The courts, not the blogs, decide when someone is so terrible that it constitutes illegal behavior, and when the courts find illegal behavior, they can punish or sanction. The post simply points out that the courts are now trying to determine this, and provides links to some newspaper/magazine articles for those who are interested in the history.

  42. Anonymous
    November 13, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    The city in its quest for more government $ are the grant whores… If the chamber and visitors bureau did a better job of letting people know about our beautiful architecture those money grubbing slumlords wouldn’t have bought the properties so cheaply and by the dozens.

  43. catch-22
    November 14, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Late to the party as always….so most likely not many will see this but…….
    I’m seeing no point of views from people that live in one of these places,so here goes….
    When I moved to Eureka,no landlords would rent to me because I was new and didn’t make 3X the rent.
    I’d been looking for awhile when I came across Squires.They showed me a cute 1 bedroom that needed work but would ready in a week.
    I came back the floor had been done so I could only see from the door but it looked great,so silly me signed the papers.
    When I got in, nothing beyond that point had been done.When I came to them about it,I was told they’d been really busy and it would be fixed in a week or two.
    (that said it’s been the longest week in history)

    What I’ve seen outside my apartment :Tenants with people in and out 24/7,people OD’ing,hookers,our trash can had a HUGE pile of needles in it one day,people peeing in the hallway,fights,drunks,blood spatter,and most likely whatever horrible thing you can imagine.

    My apartment Currently : Still never gotten that work done….Then there’s more.broken wall sockets,glass falling out of windows because of rotted caulking,mice and…..
    Oh my god the roaches! I’m a clean freak and keep all my food in containers or the fridge.No dirty dishes,take trash out twice a day,no clutter,sweep/mop every night,bug bomb every 2 weeks,even got rid of all my house plants because they could be a water source for them.
    Nothing works they are everywhere!
    I’ve taken to doing roach hunting trips at night,tonight’s total so far 207 kills,the record is 531 (Yes many are 2+ for price of one shots)
    In my place,a plate can not be put down or they try to get it,I even had to dump my kitchen table because they invaded it so bad they’d be coming out while eating.

    Why I’m still here : I can’t afford to move. I’ve lost jobs because of this place mostly being late because of fights in the hall,cops here not wanting people coming through,blown tires and gas thieves and bad old over sleeping because I’m woken up 8-9-10X a night(I haven’t had a full nights sleep in years)
    Also when I do have the money to move,renters find out I live “here” they don’t want me.
    I’d be more than happy to let them see how clean my house is.

    I’m tired of being tired and want out,but no matter what i do I’m stuck,my only hope IS the city doing something.

    I want a good job,a place where I feel safe,have pride in and can really relax.
    Living this way gets to you after awhile,you almost start wishing you were one of the druggies,they don’t seam to mind living this way .

    A nice end note : As I’m finishing this, the guy next door is drunk,yelling he’s gonna kill someone.I looked out my door to see who,but someone has stolen all the lights from the hallway again………

  44. Anonymous
    November 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    This really does work, its cheap and safe

    Make “Roach Food”:
    One part powdered (not granular) boric acid (sometimes sold as a roach-killing powder, but often available in pharmacies (for making anti-pinkeye eyewash), one part white flour, one part granulated white sugar. The sugar baits it, the flour makes it stick, and the boric acid kills them. Place in the backs of drawers and cabinets, under refrigerator, stove, etc. Expect at least 3 cycles of disappearance/reemergence of progressively smaller hordes of cockroaches, lasting about 2 weeks each. Continue using boric acid till roaches are gone.
    Kids, dogs, and some other pets will eat this mixture. Boric acid is not highly toxic, but is for external use ONLY, so place it where only the bugs can get it. It will cake hard in humid environments, so paper or foil trays may be needed.

    You don’t want to move them with you. Good luck.

  45. catch-22
    November 14, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    Thanks,but sadly done that,not much luck.
    I have really nasty people on both sides of me,so the most I can hope for is reduction.

    But don’t worry,I have a moving plan,
    Old as dirt T.V. and microwave stay here.All things I can make do without get cleaned out stuck in totes,with two bug baits( just in case) and sealed with duct tape.
    Than storage for a month or two(just so I’m not tempted to get anything out)
    Clothes and anything washable,will be done at the laundry and go straight to the new place.
    random stuff will be de-bugged, washed,packed,taped.

    After move,I’ll treat the new place as if it’s infested,traps,baits,bombs and night time hunts.
    For a few months,just to be safe.

    Oh,and all packing will be done on a white sheet,so I’ll see if any of them are coming.
    =~= I’ve spent a lot of time planing my escape from them :( =~=

  46. Anonymous
    November 14, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    Like it or not, these are the citizens that the New American Economy is depending on.

    It doesn’t take a Harvard Economist to see Eureka’s growth industries….pawn shops, second-hand, check cashing, storage units, rent to own, dollar stores, reverse mortgages, job scalpers, bail bonds, “antique” shops, drug rehab….Hell, every realtor in town is now a rental agent, (thanks to their support for candidates who protect the “right” to saturate a city with poverty wages and the homes these folks will never qualify to own).

    Then what?

    Learn Chinese?

    Have you seen how big the roaches are in Asia?

  47. November 15, 2012 at 12:29 am

    catch-22, these are hard tales. Thank you for telling them.

    For housing, a way out of this may be a house where several people live — not as apartment tenants. You can depending on the circumstance find one where you can move in without a deposit, have a room, cook in the kitchen, and share common areas with the others living there.

    At least in the San Diego area, there are a lot of these living situations. Best if you can find one with persons roughly your age, and certainly no drugs policy as most will have. Typically you would go by and visit before renting, so you can scope the persons and see.

    Mixed age can also be good, depending. There are probably a number of these with college kids given it’s Humboldt; be aware it can be tough for them to feel comfortable with anyone older than their age, so accept that if so and pick another.

    Just advice I can think of late tonight. I hope you find something soon – maybe can be your holiday present. Sounds like you have the insect method scoped.

    The whole idea of re-electing Obama is that things in a progression over reasonable time are going to get better — and with less effective resistance to it now. Anon #46 is right on one things – roaches can be huge in Asia. However, my experience is that they aren’t too aggressive, and that people there know how to deal with the problem.

    Eureka — I guess I have been walking around here the sense that there are problems and places as you describe, more than I remember. Again, this should be the time to get sensible and work out of these.

    Make your ways, for yourself. I know it is not always easy. You’ll know what you earned, and best fortune that it goes well now and forward, friend.

  48. catch-22
    November 15, 2012 at 2:01 am

    Shared housing really could be the answer for some.
    Unfortunately,it couldn’t work for me….
    The one thing I didn’t mention was I have a young child,so I have be very careful who I share living space with.
    That’s if a kid would even be welcome.
    Some landlords won’t even allow children.
    Right now on 6th & N there’s an apartment for rent,right on the sign it says : NO Children.

    Slight off topic:These days it seems like the whole country has gone “anti kid” banning them from places and people whining about, kids having tantrums in public and being kids.
    It’s like human population is getting so self centered,it’s disconnecting from it’s self as as a species.

    +*+*+Okay,mini rant over+*+*+

  49. November 15, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Ok, but I think having a child is not a problem for the right shared housing. I know for a fact that people bring their children into this situation all the time, and that it can work nicely.

    You have to think of who needs to share. That is going to very much include persons who have the needs you and your small family do. In fact, singles with children often advertise to share an apartment or other rental directly — they seek each other out.

    At the same time, someone with a child is a calming influence on a more open shared house, and unless it’s a ‘party house’ or a quiet-needing bunch of students, can be quite welcome — I have seen it.

    catch-22, given what you’ve described, even more reason to seek out such a situation. I wish you well on it, and I’m thinking that this can be where you find yourself even more welcome.

    Good renters, and persons making their way ahead, small family included — these are quite valued persons, for the right landlord, or the right shared situation. Don’t concern about those who don;t see this — that’s really their affair — not yours. The truth of your intention is how you get away from the self centered ones, and I am confident you will.

    Take that with you, please. As I’ve been going over with someone else, what we need to find, we make — it was ever so. What you are wanting to make is a good home, and you will.

  50. Anonymous
    November 15, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    It is astounding how quickly we forget about all the housing and job programs our cities used to have. If not for my small town’s SRO’s, (Single Room Occupancy Housing), I would have had an extremely difficult time entering college and finding work.

    Not long ago, Eureka lost a $1million affordable housing grant because the developer-beholden wise-guys on the city council listed their developer friends as the builders.

    As if this city’s infrastructure problems aren’t bad enough due to the political corruption in this town.

  51. Anonymous
    November 16, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Does anyone know what is happening on the case? Anyone been to the courthouse and watched the proceedings?

  52. Anonymous
    November 16, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    Squires isn’t on the inside track with the local development community, so he’ll be prosecuted to the full extent of the law and every detail will be reported in local print media…

  53. November 16, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    How about Squires’ PRACTICE of throwing his renters down staircases? How about his HABIT of getting drunk and trying to get sexual with his female tenants? And threatening them? How about Squires’ showing up to tenants rights group meetings and threatening everyone there? Property owner, poor person, renter, whoever, we should all be seriously dealing with this creepy, greedy, violent guy- and I don’t what to do about his accomplice, enabler, maybe victim, wife, Betty.

    And is the City planning to HOUSE all the people who become displaced from Squires’ cockroach-infested, earthquake crumbling, falling apart buildings?

    On another, but related note: A few years ago, Redwood Curtain CopWatch got a call from a woman who lived in one of Squires’ places that was (further) crumbled from the earthquake. It was a disaster scene. She called us because EPD thug Quigley came to the building, “accompanying” the Red Cross, who was putting people up in a hotel. You would have thought, the way Quigley and the Red Cross people spke to the the people who were just shook out of their homes, including young parents, elders, etc, that THEY had done something really wrong… The degrading, patronizing words and tone used toward these individuals and families was unacceptable, as they were being told that they could not reenter their homes and they were going to get hotel rooms, but “they have to behave themselves and absolutely no one is allowed to visit them” yada yada Can you imagine being earthquaked out of your apartment and being treated that way?! Disgusting. and Floyd and Betty Squires were there, no respect for their tenants, as usual.

  54. Anonymous
    November 16, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    These kinds of cases should be reported to the Human Rights Commission, and where is the local legal aid!? Media is the last thing on these folk’s minds while being mistreated….where in the Hell are their advocates that need to document and demand media attention to what goes on here?

    No public-interest media means an open invitation to more abuse.

  55. Anonymous
    January 1, 2014 at 9:11 am

    From the Lost Coast Outpost BOOKED!

    FLOYD EVERETT SQUIRES EPD FRESH ARREST DUI Yesterday
    10:21 p.m.

  56. Anonymous
    January 19, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Jan.19,2014 10:58 am Tenant at 2969 California st. Just went to buy groceries 3 people passed out on the floor right outside my door.. They are undoubtedly wiped out from doing drugs all night. Can’t call the cops because of fear of retaliation. They live there. every night. More often than not, you can find kids as well as other people on the stairs doing their drugs, putting their butts out on the carpet as well as urinating defecating and ejaculating.. That” right, the hookers bring them in to have a place to make their money.
    Fire trucks, cops, and ambulances are here so much that if it weren’t so tragic, it would be amusing.
    People next door have a baby, not sure it lives here but the lower window of their apt is busted out with only cardboard and i am concerned the child could take a header out the window, however the couple hangs out outside my door in the hallway screaming at the top of their lungs which always escalates into him beating her up, Again, can’t do anything because he threatens to stab her , so imagine what he’ll do to me if I call the cops.
    Fire marshall, as well as a number of other officials came parading through here just last week. No warning, just showed up with Mr. Squire ahd went through my apt. I would like to think it was because they want to help, however, from the postings I see online, theses things have been going on for years and the city does not seem to have done much of anything.
    Aren’t tenants supposed to have rights, because this place could not possibly be above board. How come it is not closed down, and the squires be forced to house all of us in a safer environment.
    It is not just about the exit signs and the fire detectors. What are you waiting for… the place to burn down with all of us in it.
    Maybe a lawsuit against the city is in order. The drug addicts, dealers and other unsavory people run this building, not the Squires. I find it hard to believe that the city is doing all it can to protect us.
    I am putting myself at great risk to post this, however, it truly blows my mind to witness how out of control this place is. Those of us who are trapped in this environment as a result of bad credit or any other number of reasons are counting on you to do something about it.

  57. Anonymous
    January 19, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    In 2004 and 2005 the City of Eureka handed Floyd Squires almost $300,000 in funds to fix up just one building, the Heroin Hilton. The city lawsuits are just for show, they are just a little spat amongst thieves.

    My God, how long will it take you good citizens of Eureka to realize how much has been stolen from you, and who has done it. Its right in front of your eyes.

  58. Anonymous
    January 20, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    Elderly couple aged 85 and 97, who had just moved to the North Coast from the Bay Area, needed a place to rent for 1 month. Floyd Squires pounded an apartment door on 2nd and C streets in Eureka, early in the morning last week at 3:00 a.m. in the morning while it was pouring down rain.
    The wife answered the door wondering if it was one of the homeless people. Shocked to see it was not a homeless man, but Mr. Floyd Squires in his drunken demeanor forced open the door and pulled out his pistol and pointed it at the woman, and told her to move aside and let him come in and sleep. She told him, no and she would call the police. His reply was, “Go ahead, I own them all in this town.” He pointed the gun at the husband and told him if his wife did not do what he said, he would kill him.
    The wife had no choice and let Mr. Floyd Squires into her unit.
    Wanted to ravage her in front of her husband, but both managed to escape and head over to Denny’s for the rest of the night. To be honest, the courts, county and city are afraid of this man. They know that when an officer serves him papers he is carrying a canceled weapon and it not afraid to use it.

  59. July 8, 2016 at 12:15 pm

    floyd is the only one here that will rent to anyone with bad credit as long as u got good refrence from other landlords and u dont gotta have 3 times the rent. im looking for a dam roof over my head and hes the only
    one i feel i can run to for that. and the rent is so high cant aford no ones big money hungry corperations that moved here to make peoples homeless. so back off if squires and him forcing the door open is bull shit elderly wouldnt be opening the door to a homeless person and squires dont got a gun if he does then why the hell old peoples gonna open door that late at knight with out looking out see who it was first. bull shit stories

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

