Home > Uncategorized > “One small nibble for a woman, one giant bite for BCI”

“One small nibble for a woman, one giant bite for BCI”

chocAmazing.  Just amazing.  A woman who has no control over her own limbs is able to feed herself chocolate using a robot arm controlled only by her brain signals.

http://www.kurzweilai.net/woman-with-quadriplegia-feeds-herself-chocolate-using-mind-controlled-robot-arm

Watch:

  1. December 21, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Speaking of brain sensors, I’ve always wondered if, or when, they’d be able to have sensors that could pick up brain waves while someone is dreaming and project images from the person’s dream on a screen.

    Every now and then you have these vivid dreams. Some of them wake you up, but it doesn’t take long before they return to your subconscious and you can’t remember them. It might be neat to be able to record them so you could watch them later to analyze them. Or would it?

  2. Plain Jane
    December 21, 2012 at 8:32 am

    I would rather a device that lets us choose the dreams we want each night, Fred. People who are interested in remembering and analyzing their dreams should keep a note pad and pen or a dictation machine by their beds and record all they can remember immediately upon waking. Telling a dream (as annoying as that is for the listener) is another way to store it in a more accessible area of the mind.

    These really are the days of miracle and wonder, but nanotechnology is a whole new frontier.

  3. Mitch
    December 21, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Remember the old philosophical chestnut about gradually replacing neurons with computer black boxes that give the same outputs for the same inputs? The question that supposedly arises is, “at what point do you have a computer as opposed to a person?” It’s the modern equivalent of the boat that’s had every plank replaced over its lifetime.

    It’s looking less philosophical every day. (I’m no philosopher, but my guess is the “as opposed to” is hiding a fatal assumption.)

  4. December 21, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Plain Jane :
    I would rather a device that lets us choose the dreams we want each night, Fred. People who are interested in remembering and analyzing their dreams should keep a note pad and pen or a dictation machine by their beds and record all they can remember immediately upon waking. Telling a dream (as annoying as that is for the listener) is another way to store it in a more accessible area of the mind.
    These really are the days of miracle and wonder, but nanotechnology is a whole new frontier.

    I’m not sure it would be productive to choose dreams. I’m of the mind that dreams are your mind’s way of blowing off steam. It’s up to the mind to decide what it wants to blow of steam about. Not sure if the conscious mind should try to usurp the subconscious in that regard.

    As far as recording them, I usually wake up in the middle of the night when I have one I want to remember. I’ll usually fall back asleep before I have a chance to really record anything. Not that I really feel like disrupting everything by recording a dream, anyway.

    Along the lines of choosing our own dreams, one fun thing I’ve been able to do is go back to a fun dream. I’ll wake up thinking about one of my rare fun dreams. I’ll lay there for a couple minutes then tell myself “Let’s go back to there, but this time lets try it this way…“. Seems to me that works sometimes, although I can’t remember the details enough to be sure.

  5. December 21, 2012 at 8:58 am

    I have a book about songwriters that recounts how Duke Ellington awoke one night with the most beautiful song he had ever written running through his head. Surely, he thought, I’ll remember this. But in the morning it was gone. Let’s hope for continued progress in assistive aids in the coming year.

  6. December 21, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Surely, he thought, I’ll remember this. But in the morning it was gone. .

    Makes me wonder if he might have remembered it had he wrote down a few words and notes of the song at the time, or would it be lost to his subconscious forever despite the reminders?

  7. December 23, 2012 at 12:23 am

    What a beautiful thread of comments this has been, thank you.

  8. December 23, 2012 at 12:23 am

    @ FM (though why bother really?). That was the point.

  9. December 23, 2012 at 12:30 am

    @MD. YOUR point is painfully apt! Think, not only of the potentials for such technology and the miracle it is for that unfortunate woman and all we’ve got going here is the usual bickering from the same old folks. Guess them Mayans were ALL wrong.

  10. December 23, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Felix:
    Mayans-Shpians! Let’s party!

  11. Plain Jane
    December 23, 2012 at 10:11 am

    It’s odd that one of the most civil threads ever is denigrated as “the usual bickering.” Did you not read the thread, Felix?

  12. December 24, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Ms. Jane, I’m sure Felix was referring to our greater, regional area; not this particular thread. I’m proud to say Felix is good friend, so I’m biased.

  13. December 24, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    @ PJ – I did read the thread and though your posts are, as usual interesting and sane, Fred is neither.
    I guess my take was more just personal, I’d have expected someone to note what this (not other fantasies) might mean to THIS woman.
    Thanks there Movie. Though I was referring to this thread.

  14. December 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    But I might have commented just after grinding through one of the lengthy threads like the gun control one first. Craziness……….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

