Home > Uncategorized > The Good News

The Good News

dpff(posted by Mitch)

Imagine growing up in the “god hates fags” Westboro Baptist Church.  You are taught that your insular group, and only your tiny insular group, is doing good in the sinful world.

Imagine summoning up the intellectual curiosity to question the only belief system you’ve ever seen, and then summoning up the courage to leave friends and most family behind.

Few things give me hope for humanity’s capability to turn towards the good.  This is one of them:

https://medium.com/reporters-notebook/d63ecca43e35

  1. February 7, 2013 at 9:05 am

    This church rocks! I think you confuse the word “fag” as meaning a homo or some other prototype of homo- it doesn’t. You need to watch South Park for the real meaning of the word and stop taking things at a poser left wing viewpoint. Lack of humor along with compassion has wrecked USrael and tossed us into the scrapheap of history.

    If it makes you feel any better, why don’t you call Arkley a fag?

  2. February 7, 2013 at 9:24 am
  3. Just Watchin
    February 7, 2013 at 9:43 am

    Mitch……you were upset with the posts on the Jamacian gay men thread. Do you expect a different reaction with this one?

  4. Anonymous
    February 7, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Why does anyone give attention to the Westboro creeps? It only encourages them. There are only 30 or so of them and they belong mostly to one family.

    Fuck them.

  5. February 7, 2013 at 10:06 am

    BF,

    I enjoy south park but I don’t believe God hates Arkley. (For a variety of reasons, my atheism being but one.)

    Anon,

    The post is not meant to give any attention to Westboro creeps. It’s meant to offer hope that it is possible to escape from hateful religious groups, as demonstrated by two sisters who left the Westboro creeps at ages 27 and 19. Of course, you’d have to follow the link to realize that.

    JW,

    No.

  6. Anonymous
    February 9, 2013 at 7:33 am

    Mitch see’s sticks in other eyes. Sometimes rightly so. Surprising, since he has logs in both his eyes. He is a sad, angry, troll. Enjoy your day of selective hate.

  7. Mitch
    February 10, 2013 at 8:13 am
  8. Mitch
    February 12, 2013 at 9:38 am

    Assistant Principal at a Catholic High School refuses to recant his support for same-sex marriage, is fired. His statement is a great demonstration of what it means to, as he says, firmly root one’s life in “the Gospel principles of love and justice.”

    STATEMENT BY MICHAEL MOROSKI, ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL AT PURCELL MARIAN HIGH SCHOOL, CINCINNATI

    On Monday, February 4, the Archdiocese of Cincinnati gave me an ultimatum after I expressed my personal opinion in support of freedom to marry for gay and lesbian couples. I was asked to resign as assistant principal at Purcell Marian High School, or keep my job until June by signing documents recanting my statements. I was given this ultimatum after I wrote a blog on my personal web page, http://mikemoroski.com entitled, “Choosing Your Battles.” I could not in good conscience recant my statements. The Archdiocese of Cincinnati has now put me on administrative leave with a pending termination.

    As a proud Catholic, I’m heartbroken that my belief that all committed, loving couples should be able to make a public pledge to take responsibility for each other for a lifetime has led to this ultimatum. The expressions of solidarity I have already received from Catholic priests, sisters and justice leaders in the community strengthen my faith during this difficult time. Due to my formation in Catholic grade school, high school and three Catholic universities – not to mention my marriage to the best Catholic I know, my relationship with numerous clergy and a devout Catholic family – I have firmly rooted my life in the Gospel principles of love and justice.

    After twelve years of working with teenagers whose respect I have earned, I simply can’t teach them the wrong lesson now and deny my convictions. I would not be able to look them in the eye. I have tried to instill a sense of faith and fortitude in all of them regarding issues of justice for my entire adult life. I did not turn down the Archdiocese’s terms in spite of my faith. I turned them down because of my faith.

    -Michael Moroski, Assistant Principal

    Purcell Marian High School

    http://www.local12.com/news/local/story/Fired-Purcell-Marian-Assistant-Principal-Talks/9BVUG3mXdE-44fuD0FP8Xg.cspx

  9. Eric Kirk
    February 17, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Didn’t see this before. This is really uplifting!

  10. March 27, 2013 at 1:17 am

    In addition to african mango extracts, since most of our
    lives that is now increasing in demand from Thailand who okyong among breeder seed
    called” mango snail”. If you drink a glass of milk right before meals.

    Take note, this is definitely heavenly! Adjust your diet and why it is important to know that this is dangerous, and if everyone knows Singaporeans, we like our beer and potato chips.
    Caffeine may increase metabolism and help you reach new levels of size and
    strength.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

