Home > Uncategorized > Get out your ballot stub

Get out your ballot stub

May-19-ballotsLocal ballots from the May 19 election are now online. Unlike the November election, all ballots appear to be accounted for, according to the Humboldt County Election Transparency Project.

The images are small, but big enough to distinguish the “Yes” votes from the “No.” Higher quality scans will be released soon.  ‘Cause we know you’re dying to conduct a manual recount on this landslide failure of an election to prove it wasn’t a total waste of money.

  1. herall
    June 14, 2009 at 2:41 am

    The electronic voting machines are rigged. This has been proven time after time. Do your own research, we should demand nothing without a paper trail! Without our elections we cannot get these criminals out of power!

  2. June 14, 2009 at 8:10 am

    This is the paper trail.

  3. June 14, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Whew! I had already threw my ballot stub away.

  4. June 14, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Grammar: I had already thrown my ballot stub away.

  5. Andrew Bird
    June 14, 2009 at 10:08 am

    herall-

    That is the beauty of Mitch Trachtenberg’s (the software developer) system. You can view an image of every ballot online.

    We need to take this system statewide then nationwide. Total transparency — totally open-source software. It will eventually save government at all levels millions and end the monopolies of companies such as Diebold.

  6. June 14, 2009 at 10:22 am

    I wonder if I might have my ballot stub laying around in this mess somewhere? I’d actually like to have the ballots big enough to see the numbers on them so I could see if my ballot was actually counted.

    Last year I turned my ballot in to elections a week or so early. I was wondering if they’d accept my signature on the outside of the envelope as my signature on file with them was at least a decade old and signatures can change over the years.

    I asked the clerk if my signature was good and she said she wouldn’t of accepted it had she cross- checked my particular ballot because it wasn’t close enough to the one they had on file.

    I’ve since sent in a new registration. Wonder if the signature on this last ballot was close enough to the one I sent in months ago?

  7. Anonymous
    June 14, 2009 at 10:27 am

    “That is the beauty of Mitch Trachtenberg’s (the software developer) system”

    To be truthful it is also project developed and managed by Kerrigan and Richard Salzman and we know how truthful and honest Richard is. The concept is a great one but until honest people are in charge it remains highly suspect. Too bad Trachtenberg couldn’t find better partners.

  8. Anonymous
    June 14, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Fred, you stated “I asked the clerk if my signature was good and she said she wouldn’t of accepted it had she cross-checked my particular ballot because it wasn’t close enough to the one they had on file.”

    Fred, you should have stated that “…she wouldn’t have accepted it…”

    I’m only telling you this so you can avoid embarrassment in the future.

    Signed, your Friendly Neighborhood Grammarian

  9. Anonymous
    June 14, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Um, you can’t use your ballot stub to locate a ballot — that would allow you to prove how you voted. The images just allow you to see every ballot the elections office counted, in case you want to do a count yourself, or confirm the counts from the transparency group or the elections office.

    Also, 10:27, two of the three people you mention are not part of the transparency project, and you only mention one of the four or five core volunteers.

  10. June 14, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    My mistake. Thanks for the clarification.

  11. Skippy
    June 14, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Mitch and company deserve a lot of credit for their great work on this important project. Their software allowed us to “find” hundreds of uncounted ballots in the last election, and in so doing they brought to light a systemic problem with the tabulating software we were using. This discovery had important policy ramifications both here in Humboldt and throughout the state. We all owe them a debt of gratitude.

    Great work folks!

  12. Mitch Trachtenberg
    June 14, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Thanks, Andrew, for the mention. Here’s a bit of clarification that probably won’t interest most people, but credit where it’s due…

    The Humboldt County Election Transparency Project is an all volunteer group based on Kevin Collins’ idea to photograph all the ballots and make them freely available. Another founder of the project is Humboldt Registrar of Voters Carolyn Crnich. Carolyn responded enthusiastically to Kevin’s idea where many registrars might have chased him away. Other founding members include Tom Pinto of the District Attorney’s office and Parke Bostrom. There’s some overlap with Ms. Crnich’s elections advisory committee, where David Cobb and others have been advocates for the project. Jamie Orr, Claudio Mendoca, Sherry Skillwoman and others have contributed their time to scan ballots, and I apologize in advance to those whose names I’m forgetting at the moment.

    I’ve been active with the project and have put together a counting program called Ballot Browser. My name tends to be associated with the project because of Ballot Browser and because I’ve done a lot of the public announcements.

    The Ballot Browser program is available for free, but I’ve started a company to try to get paid for helping people to use it. Chris Kerrigan, a great guy, helped out a bit at the very start of the company but is no longer connected with the company, mainly because we don’t have money to pay him — go try to get California to spend money this year. I’m very grateful for his early contributions.

    Some years ago I worked with Richard Salzman, another great guy, on the campaign to prevent Pacific Lumber from owning the District Attorney’s office by recalling Paul Gallegos while Gallegos was suing them. I think that campaign was a critical moment in Humboldt history… the good guys won, and I think the bad guys have made Richard pay dearly for the victory. Richard is working with me now to find business opportunities, and I’m grateful for his help.

  13. annon
    June 14, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    salzman is a crook, and so is his sister.

  14. Skippy
    June 14, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Well, I guess that settles that…if annon says so, it must be so!

  15. June 15, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Transparency Project? It should be called an obscurity project at this point. Did anybody find their ballot?… I thought not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment